Interdisciplinary Seminar 2019 Interdisciplinary Seminar 2019

The Hate in Migration

A photograph of a road and border wall

The migration of human beings across and within borders continues to be one of the greatest humanitarian and political challenges facing the world. But arguably such migration rarely, if ever, occurs without accompanying hate speech in public discourse about migrants and migration. Hate speech in public discourse on the European migration crises, the proposed border wall between Mexico and the US, ongoing controversy over Australia’s immigration policies, and the problem of internal displacement around the globe amongst Gypsy/Roma/Traveller groups are just some current examples.

But what kinds of hate speech are typically present in public discourse about migrants and migration? Is anti-migrant hate speech any different in content or tone to other sorts of hate speech? How do migrants experience this sort of hate speech? How does it affect them? How does hate speech interact with other forms of migration injustice including hate crime, discrimination, coerced migration, human rights violations, denial of refugee status, etc.? How has anti-migrant hate speech influenced migration crises and/or policy responses to those crises in Europe, the United States, and Australia? Do hate speech regulations and online community standards (such as they exist) currently protect migrants and how? Do they protect migrants on grounds of race, religion, nationality, language or citizenship (or lack thereof)?

This interdisciplinary seminar in the field of international humanities will draw on a diverse range of academic perspectives, including: law, political science, history, international development, international relations, sociology, philosophy, and area studies.

The sessions will run on Wednesdays from 10:00 to 11:30 in Arts 01.06, beginning 2 October 2019. A full list of session titles will be available in September 2019.

  • Becky Taylor (UEA) 2 October
  • Andri Innes (UEA) 9 October
  • Vic Seidler (Goldmsiths) 23 October
  • Stavros Stephanos (Council of Europe) 30 October
  • Ulrike Theuerkauf (UEA) and Maria Abranches (UEA) 6 November
  • Susann Wiedlitzka (University of Sussex) 13 November
  • Alexander Brown and Adriana Sinclair (UEA) 27 November
  • Camilla Schofield (UEA) 4 December

For further information, please contact