Applications for 2020-21 SeNSS studentships are now open Applications for 2020-21 SeNSS studentships are now open

Applications have opened for 1+3 (Masters and PhD) and +3 (PhD only) ESRC studentships starting in 2020/21. The deadline for applications to be submitted to UEA is midday on Monday 20 January 2020.

Details of how to apply for student-led SeNSS studentships can be found on our How to apply pages.

Applications are also open for the supervisor-led SeNSS studentship competitions.

For any queries related to SeNSS please contact UEA's PGR Service via senss.dtp@uea.ac.uk

Overview

The University of East Anglia invites applications for Economic and Social Research Council (ESRC) studentship awards within one of 12 training pathways, based in our Schools of Study.

ESRC studentship funding at UEA is offered under the auspices of the South East Network for Social Sciences (SeNSS), one of only 14 ESRC-funded Doctoral Training Partnerships. The SeNSS consortium brings UEA together with nine other leading UK universities to provide outstanding postgraduate training for doctoral researchers in the social sciences.

SeNSS doctoral students at the University of East Anglia will undertake cutting-edge research with supervisors at the head of their field, and will gain advanced research and transferable skills from high-quality training offered by UEA and institutes across the consortium.

Studentship funding and eligibility

SeNSS will be awarding at least 40 studentships for the 2020/21 academic year. Successful applicants who meet the Research Councils' residency requirements (as stated in the UKRI Training Grant Terms and Conditions Guidance (Annex B)) will be offered a full studentship that both covers their tuition fees and pays them a stipend (of £15,009 per year for 2019/20). EU applicants will usually only be eligible for a studentship that covers their tuition fees. International candidates may be considered for funding in the Economics pathway only, but if successful will be granted a full studentship. All successful candidates will also be able to access funds to support their PhD research and training.

“1+3” (Master’s+PhD) and +3 (PhD only) studentships

Applicants with no postgraduate qualification are warmly welcomed and are invited to apply for a “1+3” studentship. These awards cover an eligible taught Master’s degree (1 year) and PhD (3 years).

Applicants with research methods training that meets ESRC requirements (usually in the form of an eligible postgraduate degree) are of course also welcomed and should apply for a “+3” three year PhD studentship.

Further information on 1+3 and +3 awards can be found on the SeNSS website. All studentships are available for both full- and part-time study (part-time studentships are paid pro rata).

SeNSS pathways

We are seeking talented applicants across a wide range of Social Science disciplines and related multidisciplinary areas. Eligible applicants wishing to study at UEA may apply for studentships in the following pathways (corresponding Schools are listed in the right hand column). Further information on particular pathways can be obtained from the relevant SeNSS Pathway Institutional Lead:

 

Pathway / Pathway Contacts School(s) / Department(s) at UEA

Business and Management Studies

Dr Pinar Guven-Uslu

P.Guven@uea.ac.uk
Norwich Business School

Development Studies

Prof. Laura Camfield

l.camfield@uea.ac.uk
School of International Development

Economics

Prof. Steve Davies

s.w.davies@uea.ac.uk
School of Economics

Education

Dr Esther Priyadharshini

e.priya@uea.ac.uk
School of Education and Lifelong Learning

Human Geography

Dr Gareth Edwards

gareth.edwards@uea.ac.uk

School of Environmental Sciences

School of International Development

Linguistics

Dr Luna Filipovic

l.filipovic@uea.ac.uk
School of Politics, Philosophy and Language and Communication Studies (PPL)

Politics and International Studies

Dr Simon Curtis

simon.curtis@uea.ac.uk
School of Politics, Philosophy and Language and Communication Studies (PPL)

Psychology

Dr Natalie Wyer

N.Wyer@uea.ac.uk

School of Psychology

Science, Technology and Sustainability

Dr Tom Hargreaves

tom.hargreaves@uea.ac.uk

Dr Jason Chilvers

jason.chilvers@uea.ac.uk

(co-leads)

School of Environmental Sciences

Social Anthropology

Dr Ben Jones

b.w.jones@uea.ac.uk

School of International Development

School of Art, Media and American Studies -
Art History and World Art Studies  

Social Work and Social Policy

Prof. Marian Brandon

m.brandon@uea.ac.uk

School of Social Work

School of Health Sciences

The Norwich Medical School at UEA

Socio-legal Studies

Dr Michael Hamilton

michael.hamilton@uea.ac.uk
UEA Law School

 

Further information