Applications for 2019-20 SeNSS studentships are now closed Applications for 2019-20 SeNSS studentships are now closed

Applications for 2019/20 entry for full and part-time +3 (PhD) and 1+3 (Masters and PhD) ESRC funded studentships are now closed. The deadline for applications was Sunday 20 January 2019.


For queries related to SeNSS please contact the PGR Service via

The University of East Anglia invites applications for Economic and Social Research Council (ESRC) funded studentship awards, within one of 12 training pathways, based in our Schools of Study.

The South East Network for Social Sciences (SeNSS) is one of only 14 Doctoral Training Partnerships funded by the Economic and Social Research Council. The SeNSS consortium brings together the Universities of East Anglia, Essex, Kent, Reading, Roehampton, Surrey and Sussex, and City, Goldsmiths and Royal Holloway from the University of London, to provide outstanding postgraduate training for doctoral researchers in the social sciences. SeNSS doctoral students at the University of East Anglia will be able to access excellent research, transferable skills, and advanced training, both at UEA and across the other nine consortium institutions.

The SeNSS DTP will be awarding at least 40 funded Studentships for the 2019/20 academic year which are open to applicants who meet the Research Councils' residency requirements as reflected in the UKRI Training Grant Guide. International candidates may be considered for funding in the Economics pathway only. Studentships are available as a +3 (PhD) or a 1+3 (Masters and PhD), award, as well as on a full or part-time basis.

These awards, which are awarded on a competitive basis across the Universities within the consortium, provide funding to cover both fees and a stipend, subject to meeting ESRC residential eligibility requirements.

We are looking for students across a wide range of Social Science disciplines and related multidisciplinary areas. Students wishing to study at UEA, and who meet the ESRC eligibility requirements may apply for DTP Studentships in the following pathways (corresponding School / Departments are listed in the right hand column). Further information on particular pathways can be obtained from the relevant SeNSS Pathway Institutional Lead.

Pathway / Pathway Contacts School(s) / Department(s) at UEA

Business and Management Studies

Dr Pinar Guven-Uslu
Norwich Business School

Development Studies

Prof. Laura Camfield
School of International Development


Prof. Steve Davies
School of Economics


Dr Esther Priyadharshini
School of Education and Lifelong Learning

Human Geography

Dr Gareth Edwards

School of Environmental Sciences

School of International Development


Dr Luna Filipovic
School of Politics, Philosophy and Language and Communication Studies (PPL)

Politics and International Studies

Dr Simon Curtis
School of Politics, Philosophy and Language and Communication Studies (PPL)


Dr Natalie Wyer

School of Psychology

Science, Technology and Sustainability

Dr Tom Hargreaves

Dr Jason Chilvers


School of Environmental Sciences

Social Anthropology

Dr Ben Jones

School of International Development

School of Art, Media and American Studies -
Art History and World Art Studies  

Social Work and Social Policy

Prof. Marian Brandon

School of Social Work

School of Health Sciences

The Norwich Medical School at UEA

Socio-legal Studies

Dr Michael Hamilton
UEA Law School



Studentships include payment of UK/EU fees and, subject to meeting ESRC residency requirements, a tax-free maintenance stipend (for 2018-19 this is £14,777 per annum). EU students will normally only be eligible for a fees-only award.  Part-time studentship awards are paid pro-rata.   

Economics Pathway only – the ESRC has agreed to relax the rules around international eligibility in strategic areas. EU or international students can apply for a full award, without adhering to the current residential eligibility rules, if their research has a very strong economics focus and falls within the Economics Pathway.

The studentships will be awarded for a period of either three years for those with an ESRC-recognised research training qualification or equivalent (+3) or four years (1+3) for those without.

Further information