Unique and generous annual award of £26,000 Unique and generous annual award of £26,000

The David T. K. Wong Creative Writing Fellowship is a unique and generous annual award of £26,000 to enable a fiction writer who wants to write in English about the Far East to spend a year in the UK, at the University of East Anglia in Norwich.

The Fellowship is named for its sponsor Mr David Wong, a retired Hong Kong businessman who has also been a teacher, journalist and senior civil servant, and is a writer of fiction. The Fellowship was launched in 1997 and the first Fellow appointed from 1st October 1998.

David T.K.Wong's first novel The Evergreen Teahouse was published in 2003, his collection of short fiction Chinese Stories in Times of Change in 2009.  His most recent novel is The Embrace of Harlots. In this radio interview David Wong speaks about his life, his writing and the David T. K. Wong Fellowship in Creative Writing at the University of East Anglia. To read excerpts from David Wong's work and for more information, please visit his website.

The David T.K. Wong Fellow joins a community of writers founded by Sir Angus Wilson and Sir Malcolm Bradbury in 1970. UEA creative writing graduates include Naomi Alderman, Tash Aw, Trezza Azzopardi, John Boyne, Tracy Chevalier, Andrew Cowan, Anne Enright, Adam Foulds, Emma Healey, Kathryn Hughes, Kazuo Ishiguro, Anjali Joseph, Ian McEwan, Andrew Miller, Neel Mukherjee, Owen Sheers, Christie Watson, DW Wilson, and Naomi Wood. 

Fellowship Award 2017-18

We are delighted to announce that the 2017/18 David T. K. Wong Fellowship has been awarded to Nathaniel Go.

Nathan Go was born and raised in southern Philippines. He is a graduate of the Iowa Writers’ Workshop and the Helen Zell Writers’ Program at the University of Michigan. A PEN Center USA Emerging Voices Fellow, he has taught creative writing at the Braille Institute. His stories have been published or are forthcoming in Ploughshares, the Massachusetts Review and the Des Moines Register. He is currently working on his first novel.

Former David T.K. Wong Fellows

  • Meng Jin (2016/17)

  • Violet Kupersmith (2015/16)

  • Jack Wang (2014/15)

  • Sharlene Teo (2013/14)

  • Ramesh Balakrishna Pillay (2012/13)

  • Presca Ahn (2011/12)

  • Chau (Cab) Tran (2010/11)

  • Hanh Hoang (2009/10)

  • Nam Le (2008/9)

  • Balli Jaswal (2007/8)

  • Mulaika Hijjas (2006/7)

  • Linh Dinh (2005/6)

  • Rattawut Lapcharoensap (2004/5)

  • Lakambini (Bing) Sitoy (2003/4)

  • Wendy Law-Yone (2002/3)

  • Liisa Laing (2001/2)

  • Simone Lazaroo (2000/1)

  • José Dalisay (1999/2000)

  • Po Wah Lam (1998/99)

Read more about the former Fellows.


Entry for the 2018-19 Fellowship is now open.


Application deadline: Wednesday 28th February 2018

Fellowship terms & conditions and how to submit an application: Word | PDF

Application form: Word | PDF

Payment form: Word | PDF


For any queries contact: davidtkwongfellowship@uea.ac.uk