The Charles Pick Writing Fellowship was dedicated to the memory of the distinguished publisher and literary agent, Charles Pick, whose career began in 1933 and continued until shortly before his death in January 2000. Charles Pick encouraged young writers at the start of their careers with introductions to other writers and practical and financial help. The fellowship gave support to the work of a new and, as yet, unpublished writers of fictional or non-fictional prose. The Fellowship's dual purpose was to give a promising writer the opportunity complete a major work and to develop his/her talents. The fellowship ran for six months and involved an award of £10,000.

Former Charles Pick Fellows

You can read more about the former Fellows on UEA Writers.

  • Rahad Abir (2017/18)
  • Haider Shahbaz (2016/17)
  • Khine Soe Lung (2015/16)
  • Avinab Datta (2014/15)
  • Mahreen Sohail (2014/15)
  • Avni Doshi (2013/14)
  • Akil Kumarasamy (2013/14)
  • Megan Bradbury (2012/13)
  • Shubhangi Swarup (2012/13)
  • Will Boast (2011/12)
  • Helen Dinmore (2011/12)
  • Ret'sepile Makamane (2010/11)
  • Jon Lewis-Katz (2010/11)
  • Birgit Larsson (2009/10)
  • Simi Awosika (2009/10)
  • David Sornig (2008/09)
  • Erin Soros (2008/09)
  • Lois Williams (2006/07)
  • Brian Chikwava (2006/07)
  • Sam Fletcher (2005/06)
  • Alistair Daniel (2004/05)
  • Luke Williams (2003/04)
  • Thomas Frick (2002/03)

Applying for the Fellowship

The Charles Pick Fellowship is currently on hiatus and will not be running for the current academic year.

Please contact us if you have any queries.