The Council - 2021/22

(A year after a member's name indicates that the term of office expires on 31 July of that year)


Ex‑officio Members

The Chair of the Council     Dr S. Howes OBE (2024)

The Treasurer    Mr M. Williams (2022)

The Deputy Chair of Council     Mr J. Clayton (2025)

The Vice‑Chancellor and President   Professor D.J. Richardson

Provost and Deputy Vice-Chancellor     Professor C. Bovis-Cnossen

Pro-Vice-Chancellor Research and Innovation Professor F. Lettice (2022)

Council Secretary      Mr I. Callaghan (Chief Resource Officer and University Secretary)


Members Appointed by the Senate

 Professor R. Chakraborty (2022)                  

Dr U. Sundaram (2024)


Member Elected by the Support Staff

Mr K. Harper (2024) 


Independent Members                                         

Mr S. Blease (2022)

Mr S. Evans (2023)                 

Ms G. Maclean (2022)             

Dr J. Paine (2024) 

Ms J. Wheeler (2022)

Mr A. Wood (2023)


Student Members

Two student Representatives 

Ms E. Payne (30 June 2022)

Mr I. Garnham (30 June 2022)


Secretary                         The Chief Resource Officer and University Secretary

Minutes                             Mrs L. Williams (Assistant Registrar)


Remaining members of the Executive Team may attend and have the right to debate, but not to vote.


Pro-Vice-Chancellor Student Experience and Education     Professor Emma Sutton (2022) 

Pro-Vice-Chancellor Arts and Humanities     Professor S. Barrow (2022)

Pro-Vice-Chancellor Medicine and Health Sciences Professor C. ffrench-Constant (2026)

Pro-Vice-Chancellor Science     Professor M. Searcey (2024) 

Pro-Vice-Chancellor Social Sciences     Professor F. Bowen (2023) 

Chief Operating Officer     J. Baxter 

Minutes    Mrs L. Williams (Assistant Registrar)