The 2017-18 ESRC studentship competition is now closed The 2017-18 ESRC studentship competition is now closed

The SeNSS 2017/18 application cycle has closed. Applications will be open in October 2017 for full and part-time +3 (PhD) and 1+3 (Masters and PhD) ESRC funded studentships. These pages will be updated with details of the 2018/19 competition once available.

For queries related to SeNSS, or if you would like to be informed when applications for 2018/19 open, please contact the PGR Service via senss.dtp@uea.ac.uk

 

The University of East Anglia invites applications for Economic and Social Research Council (ESRC) funded studentship awards, within one of 12 training pathways, based in our Schools of Study.

The South East Network for Social Sciences (SeNSS) is one of only 14 Doctoral Training Partnerships funded by the Economic and Social Research Council. The SeNSS consortium brings together the Universities of East Anglia, Essex, Kent, Reading, Roehampton, Surrey and Sussex, and City, Goldsmiths and Royal Holloway from the University of London, to provide outstanding postgraduate training for doctoral researchers in the social sciences. SeNSS doctoral students at the University of East Anglia will be able to access excellent research, transferable skills, and advanced training, both at UEA and across the other nine consortium institutions.

The SeNSS DTP will be awarding at least 35 funded Studentships for the 2017/18 academic year which are open to applicants who meet the Research Councils' residency requirements. International candidates may be considered for funding in the Economics pathway only. Studentships are available as a +3 (PhD) or a 1+3 (Masters and PhD), award, as well as on a full or part-time basis.

These awards, which are awarded on a competitive basis across the Universities within the consortium, provide funding to cover both fees and a stipend, subject to meeting ESRC residential eligibility requirements.

We are looking for students across a wide range of Social Science disciplines and related multidisciplinary areas. Students wishing to study at UEA, and who meet the ESRC eligibility requirements may apply for DTP Studentships in the following pathways (corresponding School / Departments are listed in the right hand column). Further information on particular pathways can be obtained from the relevant SeNSS Pathway Institutional Lead.

Pathway / Pathway Contacts School(s) / Department(s) at UEA

Development Studies

Prof. Laura Camfield

l.camfield@uea.ac.uk
School of International Development

Economics

Prof. Steve Davies

s.w.davies@uea.ac.uk
School of Economics

Education

Dr Esther Priyadharshini

e.priya@uea.ac.uk
School of Education and Lifelong Learning

Human Geography

Mr Peter Simmons

p.simmons@uea.ac.uk

School of Environmental Sciences

School of International Development

Linguistics

Dr Luna Filipovic

l.filipovic@uea.ac.uk
School of Politics, Philosophy and Language and Communication Studies (PPL)

Management and Business Studies

Dr Min Zhang

M.Zhang1@uea.ac.uk
Norwich Business School

Politics and International Studies

Dr John Turnpenny

j.turnpenny@uea.ac.uk
School of Politics, Philosophy and Language and Communication Studies (PPL)

Psychology

Dr Martin Doherty   

martin.doherty@uea.ac.uk

Dr Andrew Bayliss
(deputy lead)

Andrew.p.bayliss@uea.ac.uk

School of Psychology

Science, Technology and Sustainability

Dr Tom Hargreaves

tom.hargreaves@uea.ac.uk

Dr Jason Chilvers

jason.chilvers@uea.ac.uk

(co-leads)

School of Environmental Sciences

Social Anthropology

Dr Ben Jones

b.w.jones@uea.ac.uk

School of International Development

School of Art, Media and American Studies -
Art History and World Art Studies  

Social Work and Social Policy

Prof. Marian Brandon

m.brandon@uea.ac.uk

Prof. Jonathan Dickens
(deputy lead)

j.dickens@uea.ac.uk

School of Social Work

School of Health Sciences

The Norwich Medical School at UEA

Socio-legal Studies

Dr Michael Hamilton

michael.hamilton@uea.ac.uk
UEA Law School

 

Funding

Studentships include payment of UK/EU fees and, subject to meeting ESRC residency requirements, a tax-free maintenance stipend (for 2016-17 this is £14,296 per annum, increasing to £14,553 in 2017/18). EU students will normally only be eligible for a fees-only award.  Part-time studentship awards are paid pro-rata.   

Economics Pathway only – the ESRC has agreed to relax the rules around international eligibility in strategic areas. EU or international students can apply for a full award, without adhering to the current residential eligibility rules, if their research has a very strong economics focus and falls within the Economics Pathway.

The studentships will be awarded for a period of either three years for those with an ESRC-recognised research training qualification or equivalent (+3) or four years (1+3) for those without.

Further information