Politics, Philosophy and Language and Communication Studies Politics, Philosophy and Language and Communication Studies



Head of School

Professor Lee Marsden

School Manager

Mrs Jennifer Wilkinson

Head of School Secretary

Mrs Emma Van Haren

Telephone: 01603 592149

Clerical Assistant

Mr Alexander Russell-Davis

Telephone 01603 597601

ULP Administrative Assistant

Miss Katie Frost

Telephone: 01603 593708


Sector Heads

Dr Thomas Greaves  (Philosophy)                                 

Professor John Street (Politics)

Dr Carlos de Pablos-Ortega (Language and Communication Studies)

Director of Teaching and Learning

Dr Mike Gough

Director of Admissions

Dr Roger Baines (Autumn 2016)

Dr Kim Ridealgh (Spring 2017)

Course Directors

Dr Chris Hanretty (Politics)
Dr Lee Jarvis (International Relations)
Prof. John Street (Society, Media and Journalism)
Dr Marie-Noelle Guillot (LCS PGT
Ms Ilse Renaudie (LCS UG)
Prof. Catherine Rowett (Philosophy) Autumn 2016

Professor John Collins (Philosophy) Spring 2017

Postgraduate Research Director

Postgraduate Teaching Director

Dr. Davide Rizza

Dr Helen Warner

Director of Research

Prof Alan Finlayson

Employability Director

Ms Claire Cuminatto-Stone

Chair of Board of Examiners

Mr Bob Stillwell

Plagiarism Officers

Dr Simon Curtis (Autumn 2016)

Dr Akiko Tomatsuri

Dr Sally Broughton Micova (Spring 2017)

University Language Programme Directors 

Mrs Mika Brown

Ms Maria Gomez Bedoya


Senior Advisors

Dr Giulio Pagani

Dr Hazel Marsh

Study Abroad Leads- Study Abroad/Erasmus

Dr Liki Koutrakou (Politics/Philosophy)
Ms Claudine Tourniaire (Language and Communication)

Director of Communications

Dr Toby James

Unit of Assessment Coordinators



Dr Jo Drugan (LCS)

Dr Eugen Fischer (Philosophy Spring 2017)

Professor John Collins (Philosophy Autumn 2016)

Professor Alan Finlayson (Politics)

Ethics Director     

Dr Alain Wolf

PGR Coordinators


Dr Davide Rizza (Philosophy)

Dr Gabrina Pounds (LCS)


Language Sector Heads

Ms Claudine Tourniaire (French)

Mrs Mika Brown (Japanese)

Dr Alberto Hijazo-Gascon (Spanish Autumn 2016)

Dr Carlos de Pablos-Ortega (Spanish Spring 2017)

Director of Internationalisation

Mr Lawrence Hardy
Year Abroad Coordinators

Dr Leticia Yulita (Spanish)

Ms Claudine Tourniaire (French)

Dr Akiko Tomatsuri (Japanese)

Dr Hazel Marsh (Latin America)

Chair of Athena SWAN

Dr Leticia Yulita

Academic Transitions Coordinator TBC
Extenuating Circumstances Panel

Dr Hazel Marsh

Dr Kaoru Umezawa

Dr Jerry Goodenough (Chair)

Dr Peter Handley

Research Group Coordinators

Dr Simon Curtis (Critical Global Politics)

Dr Maria Kyriakidou (Cultural Politics, Communications and Media

Dr Chi-He Elder (Applied Pragmatics)

Research/Seminar Lecture/Workshop Series Organisers

Dr Leticia Yulita

Dr Chi-He Elder

Dr Michael Frazer

Dr Oskari Kuusela

Dr Jo Drugan

Dr Roger Baines