Fellowship dedicated edicated to the memory of publisher and literary agent, Charles Pick

We are now accepting applications for the Charles Pick South Asia Fellowship 2014-15
Details can be found at the bottom of this page

The Charles Pick South Asia Writing Fellowship is dedicated to the memory of the distinguished publisher and literary agent, Charles Pick, whose career began in 1933 and continued until shortly before his death in January 2000. Charles Pick encouraged young writers at the start of their careers with introductions to other writers and practical and financial help.

The fellowship will give support to the work of a new and, as yet, unpublished writers of fictional or non-fictional prose. The Fellowship's dual purpose is to give a promising writer the opportunity complete a major work and to develop his/her talents.

The fellowships is for six months, starting on 1 October. The award is £10,000 and includes accommodation on campus at the University of East Anglia.

2013-14 Charles Pick South Asia Fellowship

We are delighted to announce that the Charles Pick Fellowship this year will be shared between two Fellows, each Fellow will be at the UEA for a period of 3 months.   

In 2013-14 the Charles Pick South Asian Fellowship was awarded to Akil Kumarasamy, and Avni Doshi.   Read the press release.

Akil Kumarasamy - Charles Pick South Asian Fellow<

Akil Kumarasamy is from Edison, New Jersey. She graduated from Barnard College, Columbia University with a B.A. in Economics. She completed a MFA in fiction from the University of Michigan, where she was a recipient of a Meijer Post Graduate Fellowship, Henfield Foundation Award, and Frederick Busch Prize. She has also received a Boren Nation Security Scholarship to study Tamil in Madurai, India. Previously, she worked as a fiction reader at the Michigan Quarterly Review and an instructor at the University of Michigan, and is now a fiction editor for Jaggery: A DesiLit Arts & Literature Journal and is finishing an interlinked short story collection.

Avni Doshi - Charles Pick South Asian Fellow

Avni Doshi was born in New Jersey, and completed her Bachelors in Art History from Barnard College, Columbia University. She then went on to do her Masters in Art History at University College London before moving to Mumbai to pursue a career as an art curator. Avni's articles have appeared in publications like Art Asia Pacific, Art India and Frieze. Her most recent exhibition in Mumbai centered on the writing of Gabriel Garcia Marquez. Avni secretly began writing fiction a few years ago. In 2013, Avni received the Tibor Jones South Asia Prize for her manuscript Girl in White Cotton. The story follows the life of a young girl growing up in an ashram in India.

Previous Charles Pick Fellows

  • Megan Bradbury (2012-13)
  • Shubhangi Swarup (2012-13)
  • Will Boast (2011-12)
  • Helen Dinmore (2011-12)
  • Ret'sepile Makamane (2010-11)
  • Jon Lewis-Katz (2010-11)
  • Birgit Larsson (2009-10)
  • Simi Awosika (2009-10)
  • David Sornig (2008-09)
  • Erin Soros (2008-09)
  • Lois Williams (2006-07)
  • Brian Chikwava (2006-07)
  • Sam Fletcher (2005-06)
  • Alistair Daniel (2004-05)
  • Luke Williams (2003-04)
  • Thomas Frick (2002-03)

Read about the previous Fellows here

Apply for the 2014-15 Charles Pick South Asia Fellowship

Every application for the Charles Pick South Asia Fellowship should include an application form, a sample of writing (maximum 2,500 words) and a reference.  Please note: the application deadline will be Friday 31 January 2014.  Submissions received after this date will not be accepted.  Only complete applications will be considered.   

Download the terms and conditions:
Microsoft Word Document  |  PDF File

Download an application form:
Microsoft Word Document  |  PDF File

Download a reference form: 
Microsoft Word Document  |  PDF File

Contact: charlespickfellowship@uea.ac.uk