Close links with major literary agencies and publishers Close links with major literary agencies and publishers

The Creative Writing MA hosts an extensive series of visits by literary agents and publishers, while the David Higham and Curtis Brown literary agencies are particularly generous in their support of our students.
David Higham Associates inaugurated the David Higham Award in 2002. This bursary is worth £5,000 to a student at the start of the MA in Creative Writing (Prose Fiction), chosen by a panel of DHA agents. All students accepted for the course are automatically eligible for consideration, and the agents' decision is based on the material submitted by students in their application portfolio.
Naomi Alderman was the first recipient of the award, and has been succeeded by: Edward Hogan, Lauren Frankel, Alex Sheal, Katy Darby, Martha Schabas, Gabrielle Barnes, Philip Langeskov, Rob Magnusson Smith, Sarah Lewis-Hammond, Sara Sha'ath, Kiare Ladner, Paula Cocozza, .
Curtis Brown sponsored a bursary for a number of years and in 2006 inaugurated the Curtis Brown Award in memory of a colleague, the agent Giles Gordon. The award is worth £1,500 and is made annually to the best student on the Prose Fiction MA, as chosen by a panel of Curtis Brown agents from a shortlist comprising those students who achieve a distinction in their dissertation. 
The 2006 award went to Joe Dunthorne, and he had been succeeded by Tamara Britten, Daniel Timms, Lauren Owen, Gillian Daly, Chelsey Flood, Charlotte Stretch, Matthew Zandstra
In addition to the annual presentations by DHA and Curtis Brown, agents and editors from the following agencies and publishers have visited our students in recent years: