The latest Creative Writing News The latest Creative Writing News

Kid Normal by Greg James and Chris Smith


Kid Normal is the debut children’s book by Radio 1 DJs Greg James and Chris Smith and has just been published by Bloomsbury in the UK. It is the first book in a projected series and is also being published in Australia, the USA and several other countries around the world. Greg (pictured) graduated from the BA in Drama at UEA in 2007 and received an honorary doctorate in 2015. Throughout his time at UEA he presented shows on the Student Union radio station, Livewire, and joined BBC Radio 1 in the summer of 2007.

The Bedlam Stacks by Natasha Pulley


The Bedlam Stacks is the second novel by UEA alumna Natasha Pulley and is published by Bloomsbury in the UK today. Natasha was born in Cambridge and studied English Literature at Oxford University. She graduated from the UEA MA in Creative Writing (Prose Fiction) in 2012, after which she completed a nineteen-month Daiwa Fellowship in Tokyo, Japan. Her first novel The Watchmaker of Filigree Street was begun during her MA and published by Bloomsbury in 2015. It received a Betty Trask Award and was shortlisted for the Authors’ Club Best First Novel Award.

January - Blood Orange by Harriet Tyce

Blood Orange, the debut thriller by UEA student Harriet Tyce, has been acquired by Wildfire in the UK and by Grand Central in the USA. It will be published simultaneously in the UK and US in January 2019.  Translation rights have meanwhile been sold in ten other countries, with more deals expected to follow. Harriet (pictured) is one of the inaugural students on UEA’s groundbreaking online MA in Crime Fiction and will graduate this September. She studied English at Oxford University and subsequently practiced for ten years as a criminal barrister in London

Avani Shah shortlisted for Guardian 4th Estate BAME prize

‘Greed’, a new short story by UEA alumna Avani Shah, has been shortlisted for this year’s Guardian 4th Estate BAME prize, which was established in 2015 to find ‘fresh compelling writing’ by minority ethnic writers to address the poor representation of black and Asian writers of fiction in the UK. Avani (pictured) graduated from UEA’s BA in English Literature with Creative Writing in 2011 and from the MA in Creative Writing in 2015. Earlier this year she was one of four young writers selected for the Word Factory apprenticeship scheme, for which she will receive a year’s free access to all Word Factory events, plus career development opportunities and mentoring. The winner of the Guardian 4th Estate BAME prize will be announced on 13 July and will receive £1,000, a one-day workshop with 4th Estate editorial, publicity and marketing teams, and will have their story published on the Guardian website.

Faye by Meadhbh Ní Eadhra

Faye is the third young adult novel by UEA alumna Meadhbh Ní Eadhra and has just been published by LeabhairCOMHAR in Ireland.  It was the winner last year of an Oireachtas Irish language literary award while still in manuscript. Meadhbh graduated from the Creative Writing (Prose Fiction) MA in 2013. She is the author of two other award-winning Irish language books for young people, Rua and Fáinne Fí Fífí, and was the winner of the 2013 Moth Short Story Prize. Last year her short story ‘Friday’ was shortlisted for the 2016 Over The Edge New Writer of The Year award. She is shortly to begin a PhD in Creative Writing at the National University of Ireland Galway.

Sandeep Parmar wins Ledbury Forte Poetry Prize

Eidolon, the second poetry collection by UEA alumna Sandeep Parmar, has won the inaugural £5,000 Ledbury Forte Poetry Prize. It was published by Shearsman Books in 2015. Sandeep (pictured) graduated from the MA in Creative Writing (Poetry) at UEA in 2003 and gained a PhD in English Literature from University College London in 2008. She edited The Collected Poems of Hope Mirrlees in 2011 and The Selected Poems of Nancy Cunard in 2016. Her study Reading Mina Loy's Autobiographies was published in 2014, and she is the author of one other collection of poetry, The Marble Orchard, published in 2012.  She is a Senior Lecturer in English at the University of Liverpool and was an AHRC/BBC New Generation Thinker in 2015

Descent & Other Poems by Timothy Ogene


Descent & Other Poems is the debut collection by UEA student Timothy Ogene and is published this week by Deerbrook Editions. Timothy was born in Nigeria and has since lived in Liberia, Germany, the US, and the UK. He holds a BA in English and History from St. Edward’s University, Texas, an MA in World Literatures in English from the University of Oxford, and is currently completing the MA in Creative Writing (Prose Fiction) at UEA. His work has appeared in numerous journals, including Harvard Review, Glasgow Review of Books, Hong Kong Review of Books, Poetry Quarterly, Tahoma Literary Review, and Blue Rock Review. His debut novel The Day Ends Like Any Day was published by Holland House earlier this year.

A State of Freedom by Neel Mukherjee

A State of Freedom
is the third novel by UEA alumnus Neel Mukherjee and is published by Chatto & Windus this week. Neel graduated from the MA in Creative Writing (Prose Fiction) in 2001 and published his first novel, A Life Apart, in 2010. Initially published in India as Past Continuous, this was the co-winner of the Vodafone-Crossword Award in 2009 and the Writers’ Guild Best Fiction Book Award in 2010, and was itself shortlisted for the DSC Prize for South Asian Literature. His second novel The Lives of Others was shortlisted for the 2014 Man Booker Prize, the Costa Novel Award and the DSC Prize for South Asian Literature. It was the winner of the 2015 Encore Award.

Pool Epitaphs & Other Love Letters by Agnes Lehoczky

Pool Epitaphs & Other Love Letters is the new collection of poems by UEA alumna Agnes Lehoczky and is published this week by Boiler House Press, with a short introductory poem by Denise Riley. Agnes graduated from the Creative Writing (Poetry) MA in 2006 and completed her PhD in Creative and Critical Writing in 2010. Originally from Budapest, Hungary, her first collection in English, Budapest to Babel, was published by Eggbox in 2008. Her second collection Rememberer was also published by Eggbox, in 2012, and her third Carillonneur by Shearsman Books in 2014. She also has three poetry collections in Hungarian and a collection of essays on the poetry of Ágnes Nemes Nagy. She was the winner of the Arthur Welton Poetry Award 2010 and the inaugural co-winner of the Jane Martin Prize for Poetry at Girton College, Cambridge, in 2011. She currently teaches Creative Writing at the University of Sheffield

The Cut by Anthony Cartwright

The Cut is a new novella by Teh Cut Book CoverUEA alumnus Anthony Cartwright. It is published this month and was commissioned by the publisher Peirene specifically to explore the issue of Brexit. Anthony was born in 1973 in Dudley and graduated from the UEA undergraduate programme in 1996. His first novel The Afterglow was published by Tindal Street Press in 2004 and was a winner of a Betty Trask Award. It was also shortlisted for the James Tait Black Memorial Prize, the John Llewellyn-Rhys Memorial Prize and the Commonwealth Writers’ Prize: Best First Novel award. His second novel Heartland was published in 2009 and shortlisted for the Commonwealth Writers’ Prize: Best Novel award. His third novel How I Killed Margaret Thatcher was published in 2012 and shortlisted for the Gordon Burn Prize. Iron Towns was published by Serpent’s Tail last year.