News News

'The Eye of the Day' by Dennison Smith

The Eye of the DayThe Eye of the Day is the new novel by UEA writer Dennison Smith and is published by Periscope this week. Dennison graduated from the UEA MA in Creative Writing (Prose Fiction) in 2012 and is currently completing her PhD in Creative and Critical Writing. Originally from Chicago and now a Canadian citizen, Dennison is a novelist, poet and playwright whose work has been performed and published in England, Canada and the U.S. Her first novel, Scavenger, was published by Insomniac Press in 1998, and her first collection of poetry, Anon Necessity in 2010. Her second collection of poetry Fermata was published in 2012. She currently working on her third novel, The Westward Hours.

Emma Healey nominated for The Times Breakthrough Award

Emma HealeyUEA alumna Emma Healey has been nominated for The Times Breakthrough Award, which recognises outstanding new artists across a range of practices including dance, film and music. Emma (pictured) has been chosen to represent literature, and the winner, chosen by Times readers, will be announced at the South Bank Sky Arts Awards event on 7th June. Emma graduated from the MA in Creative Writing (Prose Fiction) in 2011, and published her first novel, Elizabeth is Missing, last year. She was the winner of the 2014 Costa First Novel Award, and was recently shortlisted for the Desmond Elliott Prize and longlisted for the Baileys Women's Prize for Fiction.

‘All Involved’ by Ryan Gattis

All Involved: A Novel Of The 1992 LA Riots is the new novel by UEA alumnus Ryan Gattis and is published in the UK by Picador this week. It will also appear in north America, Sweden, Brazil, Italy, France, Germany, Finland and the Netherlands. Ryan was born in Illinois, USA, and raised in Colorado. He gained a BFA in Creative Writing from Chapman University in California in 2001 and graduated from the UEA MA in Creative Writing (Prose Fiction) in 2002. He published his first novel Roo Kickkick and the Big Bad Blimp in 2004. This was followed by Kung Fu High School in 2005 and two novellas, The Big Drop: Homecoming in 2012 and The Big Drop: Impermanence in 2013. He was a founding member of the publishing collective Black Hill Press, and taught English & Creative Writing for 10 years at Chapman University. He currently lives in Los Angeles.

'All Over Ireland: New Irish Short Stories' edited by Deirdre Madden

All Over IrelandAll Over Ireland: New Irish Short Stories contains new fiction by 14 Irish writers, including Colm Toibin, Mary Morrissy, Eoin McNamee, Frank McGuinness and Lucy Caldwell. The anthology is edited by UEA alumnus Deirdre Madden and is published by Faber and Faber this week. Deirdre graduated from the UEA Creative Writing MA in 1985. Her novella Hidden Symptoms was written during the course and published in 1986. This went on to win the Rooney Prize for Irish Literature. Her first novel The Birds of the Innocent Wood was published in 1988 and won the Somerset Maugham Award. One By One In The Darkness, published in 1997, was shortlisted for the Orange Prize, as was Molly Fox’s Birthday, published in 2008. Her most recent novel, her eighth, Time Present and Time Past, was published by Faber & Faber in 2013. She has also written three books for children, and currently teaches Creative Writing at Trinity College, Dublin.

Emma Healey shortlisted for Desmond Elliott Prize

Elizabeth is Missing by UEA alumna Emma Healey has been included on the shortlist of three titles in the running for this year’s Desmond Elliott Prize, which is worth £10,000 to the winner. Emma (pictured) graduated from the MA in Creative Writing (Prose Fiction) in 2011, and subsequently worked for the UEA IT department while completing her novel. Elizabeth is Missing was published by Hutchinson last year and is now an international bestseller. It was also recently longlisted for the Baileys Women's Prize for Fiction and shortlisted for the Independent Booksellers Week Awards, having previously been longlisted for the Dylan Thomas Prize and shortlisted for the Jarrold New Writing Award. It was the winner of the 2014 Costa First Novel Award.  The winner of the Desmond Elliott Prize will be announced on 1st July.

Neel Mukherjee wins Encore Award

Neel Mukherfee

UEA alumnus Neel Mukherjee has won the £10,000 Encore Award for his second novel The Lives of Others, which was published by Chatto & Windus last year. 

Neel (pictured) graduated from the MA in Creative Writing (Prose Fiction) in 2001 and published his first novel, A Life Apart, in 2010.  Initially published in India as Past Continuous, A Life Apart was the co-winner of the Vodafone-Crossword Award in 2009 and the Writers' Guild Best Fiction Book Award in 2010. It was also shortlisted for the DSC Prize for South Asian Literature in 2011. The Lives of Others was shortlisted for both the Man Booker Prize and the Costa Novel Award in 2014 and was longlisted for this year’s Folio Prize.

‘Hyacinth Girls’ by Lauren Frankel

Hyacinth Girls is the debut novel by UEA alumna Lauren Frankel and is published this week by Crown Publishers in the USA. Lauren (pictured) grew up in Stratford, Connecticut and studied English at Vassar College in New York State. In 2005 she graduated from the UEA MA in Creative Writing (Prose Fiction), when she was the recipient of that year’s David Higham Award.  She now lives with her husband and son in England.

‘Things We Have in Common’ by Tasha Kavanagh


Things We Have in Common’ is the debut novel by UEA alumna Tasha Kavanagh and is published by Canongate this week.  Tasha (pictured) graduated from the UEA MA in Creative Writing in 1992 and has worked in film editing for ten years on productions such as ‘The Talented Mr Ripley’ and ‘Seven Years in Tibet’.  She has also published nine picture books for children under her maiden name, Tasha Pym, including most recently ‘Have You Ever Seen A Sneep?’, illustrated by Joel Stewart.


‘The Green Road’ by Anne Enright


The Green Road’ is the new novel by UEA alumna Anne Enright and is published by Jonathan Cape this week.  Anne graduated from the UEA MA in Creative Writing in 1987.  Her first book, a collection of short stories called ‘The Portable Virgin’, was published in 1991 and was the winner of the Rooney Prize.  Among her novels are ‘The Gathering’ (2007), which won the 2007 Man Booker Prize and the Irish Novel of the Year Award, and ‘The Forgotten Waltz’ (2011), winner of the Andrew Carnegie Medal.  Earlier this year she was appointed as the inaugural Laureate for Irish Fiction.

‘The Lady of Misrule’ by Suzannah Dunn


The Lady of Misrule’ is Suzannah Dunn’s sixth historical novel and is published by Little, Brown this week. It follows ‘The Queen of Subtleties’ (2004), ‘The Sixth Wife’ (2007), ‘The Queen’s Sorrow’ (2008) and ‘The Confessions of Katherine Howard’ (2010) – a Richard & Judy pick in 2011 - and ‘The May Bride’ in 2014.  Suzannah graduated from UEA’s Creative Writing MA in 1989 and was for some years the course director of the Creative Writing MA at Manchester University. She is also the author of five other, critically acclaimed novels, including ‘ Commencing Our Descent’ (1999), and two collections of short stories, including ‘Tenterhooks’ (1998).