The Faculties

UEA's four faculties comprise some of the most innovative and highly regarded centres for teaching and research in the UK.

Teaching and research is organised into four faculties, each comprising several Schools of Study, plus affiliated organisations located on the campus or in the adjoining Norwich Research Park.

Arts and Humanities

UEA's early reputation for Arts and Humanities is still strong today, and its five Schools collaborate to deliver research-led teaching and pursue world-leading research.

  • School of Art, Media and American Studies
  • History
  • Interdisciplinary Institute for the Humanities
  • Literature, Drama and Creative Writing
  • Political, Philiosophy, Language and Communication Studies

Medicine and Health Sciences

The Faculty of Medicine and Health Sciences is one of the UK's leading centres for innovative teaching and research, and works in close partnership with the NHS.

  • Health Sciences
  • Norwich Medical School


In the most recent Research Excellence Framework (2014), we leapt up 12 places – one of the biggest rises in the country – occupying 21st place among mainstream English universities.

We were also ranked 10th in the UK for Research Output, which demonstrates the extraordinary consistency with which we produce outstanding research, and the breadth of quality across our many Schools.

The Science Faculty is a vibrant community with Schools of Study offering multidisciplinary programmes and interdisciplinary collaboration across the University and with our partner institutes in the Norwich Research Park.

  • Biological Sciences
  • Chemistry (including Physics)
  • Computing Sciences (including Actuarial Science)
  • Environmental Sciences 
  • Mathematics (including Engineering)
  • Pharmacy
  • Natural Sciences
  • John Innes Centre
  • Institute of Food Research 

Social Sciences

The Faculty of Social Sciences comprises seven Schools, each working at the forefront of academic and professional development.

  • Economics
  • Education and Lifelong Learning
  • International Development
  • Law
  • Norwich Business School
  • Psychology
  • Social Work

Over 14,000 students from more than 100 countries of the world study at UEA.  The university is rated as one of the top three places to be a student in the UK.