Principal Officers of the University - 2021/22


  • Chancellor: Karen Jones CBE


  • Pro-Chancellor and Chair of the Council: Dr Sally Howes, OBE (Cantab), PhD (Bristol) (2024)


  • Treasurer: Mr Mark Williams, BA (Hons), MSc (East Anglia), ATT, CTA, CLD (2022)

  • The Deputy Chair of Council: Mr Jeremy Clayton, MA (Oxon) (2025)


  • Vice-Chancellor and President:  Professor David Richardson, BSc (Keele), PhD (Birmingham)


  • Provost and Deputy Vice-Chancellor: Professor Christine Bovis-Cnossen, BA Hons (McMaster), MA (Wilfred Laurier), PhD (Hull) 

  • Pro-Vice- Chancellor Research and Innovation: Professor Fiona Lettice, BSc (Bradford), MSc, PhD (Cranfield), BA (OU) (2022)

  • Pro-Vice-Chancellor Student Experience and Education: Professor Emma Sutton (2022)

  • Pro Vice-Chancellor Arts and Humanities: Professor Sarah Barrow, BA, MA (Cantab), PhD (Sheffield) (2022)


  • Pro Vice-Chancellor Medicine and Health Sciences: Professor Charles ffrench-Constant, MA, MB, BChir (Cambridge and UCL), MRCP (London) (2026)

  • Pro Vice-Chancellor Science: Professor Mark Searcey, BSc (Loughborough), PhD (Hertfordshire) (2024)


  • Pro Vice-Chancellor Social Sciences: Professor Frances Bowen, BA (Oxon), PhD (Bath), HEA (2023)


  • Chief Resource Officer and University Secretary: Mr Ian Callaghan, BA Hons (Sheffield), ACMA, GCMA, ACIB


  • Chief Operating Officer: Ms Jenny Baxter, BSc Hons (Surrey), Knight Wallace Fellow (Michigan)


(A year after an Officer’s name indicates that the term of office expires on 31 July of that year.)