Seminars led by influential speakers from around the world Seminars led by influential speakers from around the world

The School of International Development has a lively research community and regularly invites speakers from across the world.

Wednesday seminars are usually held at 3.30pm

Friday seminars are usually held at 12pm

If seminars are held at times or dates that are outside our usual sessions, the times are stated in the seminar list below.

Seminar Organiser: Hannah Hoechner 

All Welcome

 

Upcoming 2020 Spring Research Seminars

 

Date

Speaker

Title

Room

Wednesday 15th January Phillippa Williams

WhatsApp, the Digital living room and lived democracy in India

ARTS 2.84
 Wednesday 22nd January Luke Heslop

Anthropology, Development and Decolonisation: reflections on principles, practice, & student organising

ARTS 2.84
Friday 24th January Helen Campbell-Pickford Learning (and lack of it) in a Network of Organizations: Knowledge Construction in an NGO Intervention in Schools in Rajasthan, India. ARTS 01.01
Wednesday 29th January

Jane Humphris

TBC

ARTS 2.84
Friday 31st January

In Cheol Jang

Teacher education and ITC ARTS 01.01

Wednesday 5th February

12-1pm

Nick Meyen

What the stories from the global movement for environmental justice tell us about the economic transition we need

ARTS 2.03

Wednesday 5th February

3.30-5pm

Oliver Barnett-Naghshineh

The Gender of the Commodity: emotions, affect and care in and around the Goroka marketplace, Papua New Guinea

ARTS 2.84
Friday 7th February Cindy Wilhelm

Inclusive ‘Guinéisation’?: The implementation of Local Content Policies (LCPs) in Guinea’s bauxite industry

ARTS 01.01
Wednesday 12th February Emma Abotsi

Making 'serious' children in Ghana: the transnational educational strategies of British-Ghanaian families

C.HALL 0.13
Wednesday 19th February David Blake

Beyond the ditch: The role of irrationalism in the transformation of the Lower Mekong River waterscape

QUEENS 0.08
Wednesday 26th February Matt Kandel

Social differentiation and equity in restoration: Considering the case of FMNR in northeastern Ghana 

POSTPONED
Friday 28th February In Cheol Jang ICT teacher professional development in Ethiopia: an examination of relationship between pedagogy and materiality ARTS 01.01
Wednesday 4th March Salma Zulfiqar Film Screening – We are Searching for Life - Refugees POSTPONED
Wednesday 11th March Tanja Muller

Remaking citizenship? German Business sector engagement and refugee integration

POSTPONED

Wednesday 22nd April 

Natasha Grist

“It’s changed my whole life!”: how inclusive development through clean cooking biogas improves people’s livelihoods, health and environment in a Kenyan community

BDS 0.14
Friday 24th April Brendan Whitty

The Limits of the Development Imagination: project logics and professional structures

ARTS 01.01
Wednesday 6th May Tania Jain

Researcher vs advocate: ethnographic-ethical dilemmas in feminist scholarship

C.HALL 0.13
Friday 8th May Katie McGlade

TBC

ARTS 01.01
Wednesday 13th May Louise Waite

Unfreedom and modern slavery: Faith-based responses to anti-slavery in the UK

C.HALL 0.13

 

Visit our Twitter @developmentuea to get regular updates on new and upcoming research seminars.