Seminars led by influential speakers from around the world Seminars led by influential speakers from around the world

The School of International Development has a lively research community and regularly invites speakers from across the world.

Wednesday seminars are usually held at 3.30pm

Friday seminars are usually held at 12pm

Seminar Organiser: Paul Clist

All Welcome

2018 Spring Semester Seminars:





Wednesday 17th January

Christian Lund Another Fine Mess: Urban Property in Medan

ARTS 2.01

Wednesday 24th January Kunal Sen Deals & Development: The Political Dynamics of Growth Episodes EFRY 1.01
Wednesday 31st January Milford Bateman Small Loan, Big Problem: The Irresistible Rise & Fall of Microfinance EFRY 1.01
Friday 2nd February Ana Cascao Rule of Experts in the Nile Basin: Can they Change the Hydropolitical Trajectory? ARTS 2.03
Wednesday 7th February Ludek Stavinoha & Kavita Ramakrishnan Beyound Humanitarian Logics: Refugee-Volunteer Encounters in Paris & Chios EFRY 1.01
Friday 16th February Karen Lauterbach Becoming Small 'Big Men;: Charismatic Pastorship in Ghana ARTS 2.03
Wednesday 28th February Samir Jeraj The Rent Trap: Reflections on the Housing Crisis, Grenfell Tower & Neo-Liberalism ARTS 2.01
Wednesday 7th March Tanja Müller Local Perspectives of Conflict, Pitfalls in UN Data Collection & Human Rights Discourse, & the Effectiveness of Peacekeeping Missions EFRY 1.01
Wednesday 14th March Jörg Wiegratz The Politics of (Fighting) Economic Fraud in Neoliberal Uganda EFRY 1.01
Friday 16th March Brendan Bromwich Repoliticising Analysis of Natural Resources and Conflict in Darfur ARTS 2.03
Wednesday 18th April Emma Mawdsley Th Changing Geopolitics of UK Aid & Development EFRY 1.01
Friday 20th April Jesman Chintsanya The Role of Older Persons in Socio-Economic Development of Malawi ARTS 2.03
Wednesday 25th April Blessings Chisinga The Political Economy of Agriculture Subsidies & Rural Development in Malawi ARTS 2.01
Friday 27th April Mark Tebboth Should I Stay or Should I Go? Exploring Mobility in the Context of Climatically-driven Environmental Change EFRY 1.01
Wednesday 2nd May Neil Howard Are We Really Saving the Children? On the Anti-Politics of Anti-Trafficking EFRY 1.01