Student Experience Committee



Committee Secretary: Ms Lucy Smith, telephone 01603 59(7986) / email 

Governance Office: Mrs Rebecca Phillips, telephone 01603 59(3203) / email



Pro-Vice-Chancellor (Academic) - Professor Neil Ward (Chair)

Academic Director of Taught Programmes - Professor Emma Sutton

Academic Director of of Inclusive Education - Professor Helena Gillespie 

Academic Director of UEA Doctoral College - Professor Alastair Grant

Director of Student Services - Dr Jon Sharp 

Head of LTS - Mrs Caroline Sauverin / Mrs Laura Thompson 

Head of Postgraduate Research Service - Dr Vivien Easson 

Director of Information Technology or nominee - Mr Mark Barry

Director of Estates and Facilities or nominee - Mr Roger Bond 

Director of Sport and Commercial Services - Mr Phil Steele 

Director of the Library - Mr Nick Lewis 

Head of Careers Service (representing Director of Research and Innovation Division) - Mr James Goodwin

Market Research Manager (representing Director of Finance, Planning and Governance Division) - Ms Johanna Hardy (maternity cover) 

Assistant Head of Planning: WP and Business Intelligence - Mrs Becky Price

Assistant Head of Corporate Communications or nominee - Mrs Sue Lawson 

Independent Member of Council - Mr Jeremy Clayton (2022)

A Senior Advisor - TBC

A Member of the FLTQC (FMH) - Dr Elizabeth Blowers 

A Member of the FLTQC (HUM) - Dr Akiko Tomatsuri 

A Member of the FLTQC (SCI) - TBC 

A Member of the FLTQC (SSF) - Rebecca Westrup 

The Undergraduate Education Officer of the Union of UEA Students - Mr Callum Perry (2021)

The Postgraduate Education Officer of the Union of UEA Students - Ms Ayane Hida (2021) 

Activities and Opportunities Officer of the Union of UEA Students - Ms Elizabeth Payne (2021) 

Campaigns and Democracy Officer of the Union of UEA Students - Mr Hamish Williams (2021) 

Welfare, Community and Diversity Officer of the Union of UEA Students - Ms Emily Anderson (2021) 

Assistant Head of Life and Learning (Student Life) (Secretary) - Ms Lucy Smith 

Terms of Reference


(1)     To consider all matters relating to the UEA student experience including:

  1. the recreation, welfare and well-being of students;

  2. the provision of services (including Learning and Teaching Services), facilities and amenities for students;

  3. reports from the Student Safety Group and the Student Sport and Physical Activity Committee;

  4. reports from the Students Union, including the annual Student Experience Report;

  5. the results of the NSS relating to the non-academic aspects of student experience;

  6. the fairness and transparency of University

  • terms and conditions

  • student protection plan

  • refund and compensation policy

(2)     To make or endorse recommendations for consideration by Learning and Teaching Committee and other relevant University committees as required

Meetings 2020/2021


TUESDAY 29 september 2020

2pm - Microsoft TEAMS


2pm - Microsoft TEAMS


2pm - Location TBC (Committee Room 2, The Council House / Virtual) 


2pm - Location TBC (Committee Room 2, The Council House / Virtual) 

Web Content Display

Next Meeting

tuesDAY 29 september 2020

2pm - Microsoft TEAMS

Title Size  
Meetings 2019-20 --
Meetings 2018-19 --
Meetings 2017-18 --
Meetings 2016-17 --
Meetings 2015-16 --
Meetings 2014-15 --
Meetings 2013-14 --
Meetings 2020-2021 --
Meetings 2021-2022 --
Showing 1 to 9 of 9 entries.
  • thumbnail
    Right Now by