Governance Committee



Committee Secretary / Contact for Agendas and Minutes:

Mr Ian Callaghan: email

Mrs Jessica Pointer (Committee Administration support): email 

Contacts for Apologies: 

Mr Ian Callaghan: email

Mrs Jessica Pointer (Committee Administration support):  email 

Mrs Rebecca Phillips:



The Chair of the Council (Chair) - Dr Sally Howes (2024)

The Deputy Chair of Council - Professor Christine Bovis-Cnossen 

A further Independent member of the Council - Mr Jeremy Clayton (2022)

The Vice-Chancellor - Professor David Richardson 

Secretary - Chief Resource Officer and University Secretary (Mr Ian Callaghan)

Terms of Reference


1)            To make recommendations to the Council for the appointment of independent members to the Council.

2)            To appoint Council members to Council boards and committees.

3)            To ensure the University follows best practice in governance matters including:

a.             maintaining an over-arching view on corporate governance of the institution and its subsidiary companies and joint ventures;

b.             monitoring the implementation of the outcomes of periodic reviews of Council Effectiveness;

c.             to consider recommendations received from the Committee of University Chairs in respect of governance;

d.             overseeing periodic reviews of Council Effectiveness.

4)            The Committee may establish working groups for particular purposes and in particular the periodic reviews of Council Effectiveness and co-opt additional members to such working groups.

5)            To consider any other matters that Council may ask the Committee to address.

Meetings 2021/2022


Please note that the Governance Committee is confidential and therefore no documents will appear online.

MONDAY 24 january 2022 

2pm - Location TBC (Vice Chancellor's Meeting Room / Virtual) 

MONDAY 27 june 2022 

2pm - Location TBC (Vice Chancellor's Meeting Room / Virtual) 

Next Meeting

monday 24 january 2022 

2pm - Location TBC (Vice Chancellor's Meeting Room / Virtual)