Finance Committee



Committee Secretary: Mr Jason Brown, telephone 01603 59(2108), email

Governance Office: Mrs Rebecca Phillips, telephone 01603 59(3203), email 



The Vice-Chancellor - Professor David Richardson

The Treasurer - Mr Mark Williams (2022)

Chief Resource Officer and University Secretary - Mr Ian Callaghan

The Deputy Vice-Chancellor - Professor Neil Ward (2021)

Director of Finance - Mr Jason Brown 

Two Independent members of Council - Mr Jeremy Clayton (2022) and Dr Kathryn Skoyles (2021)

One of the two Student Council Members -Ms Elizabeth Payne (2021)

Secretary - Director of Finance (Mr Jason Brown)

Terms of Reference


a) consider the budget for the coming financial year prior to consideration by Senate and its submission to Council for approval

b) monitor the estimated outturn for the year (revenue, capital and cash) periodically (probably at four times in the year)

c) be informed of and discuss any issues which arise which will be material to the University’s finances

d) approve acquisition or disposal of property at values of less than £500,000

e) approve tuition, residence and nursery fees

f) approve borrowing of less than £500,000

g) advise the Chair of Council, should the Chair be asked to act on material issues (particularly those with financial impact) on behalf of Council

h) monitor the University’s cash position and compliance with banking covenants.

Meetings 2020/2021


Please note that the  Finance Committee is confidential and therefore no documents will appear online.


10am - Microsoft TEAMS

Thursday 5 NOVEMBER 2020 

10am - Microsoft TEAMS

thursday 5 NOVEMBER 2020

11am - Joint Audit Committee / Finance Committee meeting - Microsoft TEAMS

thursDAY 4 MARCH 2021

10am - Location TBC (Vice-Chancellor's Meeting Room / Virtual) 


10am - Location TBC (Vice-Chancellor's Meeting Room / Virtual) 


10am - Location TBC (Vice-Chancellor's Meeting Room / Virtual) 

Next Meeting

friday 18 september 2020

10am - Microsoft TEAMS