Principal Officers of the University - 2023/24


  • Chancellor: To be confirmed 


  • Pro-Chancellor and Chair of the Council: Dr Sally Howes, OBE (Cantab), PhD (Bristol) (2024)


  • Treasurer: Mr Simon George, BA HonsMscACMA, CPFA (2025)

  • The Deputy Chair of Council: Mr Jeremy Clayton, MA (Oxon) (2025)


  • Provost/Deputy Vice-Chancellor: Professor Christine Bovis-Cnossen, BA Hons (McMaster), MA (Wilfred Laurier), PhD (Hull) 

  • Interim Pro-Vice- Chancellor Research and Innovation: Professor Brian Reid

  • Pro-Vice-Chancellor Student Experience and Education: Professor Emma Sutton-Pavli, RMN, BSc (Hons), MA (2024)

  • Pro Vice-Chancellor Arts and Humanities: Professor Sarah Barrow, BA, MA (Cantab), PhD (Sheffield) (2024)


  • Pro Vice-Chancellor Medicine and Health Sciences: Professor Charles ffrench-Constant, MA, MB, BChir (Cambridge and UCL), MRCP (London) (2026)

  • Pro Vice-Chancellor Science: Professor Mark Searcey, BSc (Loughborough), PhD (Hertfordshire) (2024)


  • Pro Vice-Chancellor Social Sciences (Interim) : Professor Paul Dobson, BA Hons (CNAA), MSc, PhD (London) (2024)


  • Chief Resource Officer and University Secretary: Mr Ian Callaghan, BA Hons (Sheffield), ACMA, GCMA, ACIB

  • Director of Finance: Mr Jason Brown 

  • Director of People and Culture: Mrs Helen Wiseman 



(A year after an Officer’s name indicates that the term of office expires on 31 July of that year.)


Former Principal Officers