The UEA UNESCO Chair review group – consisting of experts in the field of adult literacy, learning and development - contribute valuable insights into our programme and vision for the future.

Following the Chair launch event and review group meeting at UEA in 2017,  our partner institutions have hosted  the annual meeting alongside a UNESCO Chair Literacy Day and an international conference. In 2018, Professor Mahesh Parajuli (Nepal coordinator) chaired the annual meeting at Kathmandu University. Professor Camilla Vizconde (Philippines coordinator)  hosted the third annual meeting at the University of Santo Tomas. This brought together partners from across the three continents – virtually and in person – for a stimulating discussion and presentations on how to develop the programme in the second phase.

UEA UNESCO Chair progress reports - 




The review group consists of:

  • James Bridge - UK National Commission for UNESCO
  • Dr. Borhene Chakroun, Hervé Huot-Marchand and Mari Yasunaga - UNESCO Headquarters (in Paris)
  • Nora Fyles - UN Girls’ Education Initiative (UNGEI), New York
  • Dr. Rakhat Zholdoshalieva and Dr. Jamila Razzaq - UNESCO Institute for Lifelong Learning (UIL), Hamburg
  • Professor Mahesh Parajuli - Kathmandu University and Nepal UEA UNESCO (Chair Coordinator)
  • Turuwark Zelalam Warkineh - Bahir Dar University and Ethiopia UEA UNESCO (Chair Coordinator)
  • Dr. Eslam Mohammed Al-Saieed - Ain Shams University and Egypt UEA UNESCO (Chair coordinator)
  • Professor Camilla Vizconde - University of Santo Tomas and The Philippines UEA (UNESCO Chair Coordinator)
  • Dr. Symon Ernest Chiziwa - University of Malawi and Malawi UEA (UNESCO Chair Coordinator)
  • Dee Robinson - New Routes, Norwich
  • Professor Alan Smith - University of Ulster
  • Professor Mary Hamilton - University of Lancaster
  • Professor Anna Robinson-Pant (Chair holder),
  • Professor Nitya Rao, Dr. Sheila Aikman, Dr. Catherine Jere, Professor Alan Rogers, Dr. Esther Priyadharshini and Professor Yann Lebeau (UEA UNESCO Chair Coordinators)
  • Chris Millora - UEA UNESCO Chair PhD scholar