autumn 2019 autumn 2019

The Autumn Seminar Series is organised by Michael Kummer.

Seminars are hosted between 13:30 and 15:00, unless otherwise stated. Tea and coffee will be served at 13:30 and the seminar will commence at 13:45.

Date

Location

Speaker

Thu 24 Oct REG 3.15

Greg Taylor (University of Oxford)

Data and Competition

Thu 31 Oct REG 3.15

Tomaso Duso (DIW Berlin)

Price or Variety? An Evaluation of Mergers Effects in Grocery Retailing

Thu 7 Nov REG 3.15

Rob Hart (Swedish University of Agricultural Sciences)

Growth, pollution, policy!

Thu 14 Nov REG 3.15

James Fenske (University of Warwick)

Pre-Colonial Warfare and Long-Run Development in India

Thu 21 Nov REG 3.15

Sebastian Axbard (Queen Mary University London)

Clearing the Smog: Monitors, Accountability and Pollution Reduction in China

Thu 28 Nov REG 3.15

Juan Pablo Rud (Royal Holloway)

TBA

Thu 5 Dec REG 3.15

Victoire Girard (NOVA School of Business & Economics)

Natural resources and ethnic identity (joint with Nicolas Berman and Mathieu Couttenier)

Thu 12 Dec REG 3.15

Oliver Gürtler (University of Cologne)

A new framework for studying contests with an application to diversity in organizations

Spring 2020 Spring 2020

The Spring 2020 Seminar Series is organised by Michael Kummer.

Seminars are hosted between 13:30 and 15:00, unless otherwise stated. Tea and coffee will be served at 13:30 and the seminar will commence at 13:45.

Date

Location

Speaker

Thu 16 Jan REG 3.15

Marco Mariotti (Queen Mary University London)

Inferring Cognitive Heterogeneity from Aggregate Choices

**CANCELLED**

Thu 23 Jan REG 3.15

Arek Szydlowski (University of Leicester)

Inference in Repeated Binary Games with Random States

Thu 30 Jan REG 3.15

Rhiannon Sowerbutts (Bank of England)

The relationship between regulator independence and financial stability

Thu 13 Feb REG 3.15

Edoardo Gallo (University of Cambridge)

Social networks, confirmation bias and shock elections

Thu 20 Feb REG 3.15

Andrea Mitrut (University of Gothenburg)

The Underestimated Costs of Corruption: Hospital-Acquired Infections and Neonatal Health

Thu 27 Feb REG 3.15

Joel van der Weele (University of Amsterdam)

Self-Persuasion: Evidence from Field Experimens at two International Debating Competitions

Thu 5 Mar REG 3.15

Florian Zimmermann (BRIQ Instititue)

Associative Memory and Belief Formation     **CANCELLED

Thu 12 Mar REG 3.15

Andreas Schaefer (University of Bath)

Artificial Intelligence: Economic Challenges of Technological Uncertainty

Thu 19 Mar REG 3.15

Terri Kneeland (UCL)

TBA

Thu 23 April 

REG 3.15

Morten Ravn (UCL)

TBA

Thu 30 April

REG 3.15

Christine Zulehner (University of Vienna)

TBA

Thu 07  May

REG 3.15

Andrea Tesei (QMUL)

Mobile Phones, Information and Technology Adoption in Agriculture

Thu 14 May

REG 3.15

Per Petterson-Lidbom  (Stockholm University)

TBA

Thu 21 May

REG 3.15

Sonke Ehret (HEC Lausanne)

TBA

Thu 28 May

REG 3.15

Elena Paltseva (Stockholm School of Economics)

TBA

Thu 11 June

REG 3.15

Leonie Baumann (McGill University)

Demand Cycles and Heterogeneous Conformity Preferences

Thu 18 

June

REG 3.15

Anja Tolonen (Columbia University)

TBA