Seminars led by influential speakers from around the world Seminars led by influential speakers from around the world

The School of International Development has a lively research community and regularly invites speakers from across the world.

Wednesday seminars are usually held at 3.30pm

Friday seminars are usually held at 12pm

If seminars are held at times or dates that are outside our usual sessions, the times are stated in the seminar list below.

Seminar Organiser: Hannah Hoechner 

All Welcome

 

Upcoming 2019 Autumn Research Seminars

 

Date

Speaker

Title

Room

Wednesday 2nd October Suresh Gautam Urban Youth’s Learning From Everyday Life in Kathmandu: Arts Based Narrative Inquiry ARTS 2.01
Wednesday 9th October

Anshu Ogra

Climate Change and the Evolving Relationship between Science and Society

ARTS 2.03
Friday 11th October Hailing Zhao

The making of a 'wolf-like' worker in China: an ethnographic study of a Chinese foundation

ARTS 2.03
Wednesday 16th October Ben Jones

‘We are Passing our Leisure time’: Moving on from Education in Eastern Uganda

ARTS 2.01
Friday 18th October Sarah Coulthard

How a Social Wellbeing Lens Can Illuminate and Connect Fresh Insights into how People Use, and Depend Upon, Natural Resources

ARTS 2.03
Wednesday 23rd October Maria Isabel Santana

Financial Education, Social Networks and the Decision to Save: Evidence from a Field Experiment in the Philippines

ARTS 2.01

Friday 25th October

Alison Buckler

Creative and digital storytelling in international education research

ARTS 2.03 

Friday 8th November

Krishnan Narayanan

Sustainable Adaptation and Groundwater Boom in Peninsular India: Econometric Evidences from the Agriculture Sector in Undivided Andhra Pradesh

ARTS 2.03
Friday 15th November Lily Rice

Good without God? An ethnographic study of humanism in Uganda

ARTS 2.03
Wednesday 20th November Luisa Enria

Unsettled Authority and Humanitarian Practice: Reflections on Legitimacy from Sierra Leone’s Borderlands

ARTS 2.01
Friday 22nd November Anmol Arora

The challenges and opportunities of leveraging arts for knowledge creation: Discussion of debut novel "The Last Dance"

ARTS 0.28
Wednesday 27th November Olivia Barnett-Naghshineh

The Goroka Marketplace and Economies of Recognition: locating gender, emotions and care in the gifting economies of Goroka, Eastern Highlands, Papua New Guinea

ARTS 2.01
Friday 29th November Helen Campbell Pickford Learning (and lack of it) in a Network of Organizations: Knowledge Construction in an NGO Intervention in Schools in Rajasthan, India. ARTS 2.03
Wednesday 4th December Nick Meynen

Frontlines: Stories of Global Environmental Justice

REG CR2
Friday 6th December Brendan Whitty

The Limits of the Development Imagination: project logics and professional structures

ARTS 2.06
Wednesday 11th December Helen Jeans

Confessions of a development worker

REG CR2

 

Visit our Twitter @developmentuea to get regular updates on new and upcoming research seminars.