About Us

UNIMA Family Literacy Project

The University of Malawi is the oldest institution of higher learning in Malawi, established in 1964 soon after independence. It was established by an act of parliament and accredited by the National Council of Higher Education (NCHE). The University has four constituent colleges: The Polytechnic, College of Medicine, Kamuzu College of Nursing and Chancellor College. The University was re-established after the 2019 acts of parliament which created three Universities from delinked constituent colleges of the federal University of Malawi. Chancellor College retained the name of University of Malawi. The School of Education and Centre for Language Studies are located at Chancellor College. The mandate of the former is to offer pre-service teacher training programmes, postgraduate programmes in education and conduct educational research. The mandate of the Centre for Language Studies is to develop and promote local languages through research and language and literacy teaching.

School of Education and the Centre of Language Studies