2022 looks set to be a year of celebration at UEA, with the University planning to hold its first graduation ceremonies for three years.

As well as celebrating the achievements of our wonderful students, every graduation ceremony has an honorary graduate, rewarding an individual for outstanding accomplishments in their field or for notable contributions to their community.

Next year will be no exception and, in anticipation of UEA’s 2022 celebrations, throughout this week we’ll be announcing the honorary degree recipients joining us in July next year, some of the biggest and brightest names across a number of vocations.

Our honorary graduates for 2022 are:

Ismail Ahmed – Honorary Doctorate in Civil Law

Ismail Ahmed is a former United Nations Development Programme (UNDP) officer and founder and chairman of WorldRemit.

Dr Kathryn Skoyles – Honorary Doctorate in Civil Law

Kathryn grew up in Norfolk and qualified as a solicitor in 1988. After several years as a partner of a London law firm Titmuss Sainer, she became General Counsel of an insurance group, taking early...

Sir Norman Lamb – Honorary Doctorate in Civil Law

Sir Norman Lamb was Member of Parliament for North Norfolk from 2001 to 2019, also serving as Minister of State for Care and Support at the Department of Health from 2012 to 2015.

Simon Thomas – Honorary Doctorate in Letters

From 1999-2005, Simon Thomas was a presenter on the iconic BBC show Blue Peter where he travelled to over 25 countries, skydived with the RAF Falcons and presented the Queen with a gold Blue Peter...

Prof Mary Chamberlain – Honorary Doctorate in Letters

Prof Mary Chamberlain has published six historical monographs on women’s history and Caribbean history utilising oral history and pioneering family dimensions into a study of migration.

Prof Jamie Bartram – Honorary Doctorate in Science

Prof Jamie Bartram is an internationally-recognised academic, public health scientist and international civil servant, with over 30 years’ experience of international policy, research and advisory...

Prof Tony Davies – Honorary Doctorate in Science

Prof Tony Davies C.Chem, FRSC, is an internationally recognised expert on chemical analysis by near infrared spectroscopy and the owner of Norwich Near Infrared Consultancy (NNIRC), a company he...

Dame Jocelyn Bell-Burnell – Honorary Doctorate in Science

Dame Jocelyn Bell Burnell inadvertently discovered pulsars as a graduate student in radio astronomy in Cambridge, opening up a new branch of astrophysics - work recognised by the award of a Nobel...

Naomi Alderman – Honorary Doctorate in Letters

Naomi is an acclaimed writer whose most recent novel The Power was the winner of the 2017 Baileys’ Women’s Prize for Fiction and topped Barack Obama’s list of his favourite books from 2017.

Kip Bertram – Honorary Doctorate in Letters

Kip Bertram founded the Norwich-based Bertram Books in 1968 which grew to become the largest wholesaler of books in the UK, employing 750 people, before Kip sold it 31 years later.
— 10 Items per Page
Showing 1 - 10 of 26 results.