Offers more than 130 Bachelor degree programmes Offers more than 130 Bachelor degree programmes

City University of Hong Kong is a public research university located in New Kowloon, Hong Kong.  CityU was originally founded in 1984 as City Polytechnic of Hong Kong and became a fully accredited university later in 1994.

The university now offers more than 130 Bachelor degree programmes within six Schools and Colleges, including Business, Liberal Arts and Social Sciences, Science and Engineering, Creative Media, Energy and Environment and Law.  Post-graduate studies are offered through the Chow Yei Ching School of Graduate Studies.

With its mission to become a leading world-class hub for professional education and academic research, CityU is fast-growing in recent years across the region and has become one of the four renowned universities in Hong Kong within a very short period of time.

The CityU Students' Union aims at fostering a spirit of unity, independence and democracy among students as well as promote and safeguard the rights and welfare of all its members.  Its 19 societies, approximately 40 affiliated clubs and seven residents' associations organise regular functions throughout the year.

Quick Facts:

Location: New Kowloon, Hong Kong
City Population: 2,019,533
University Population: 17,500
Climate: Humid Subtropical climate - hot, humid summers and mild winters
Nearest Airport: Hong Kong International Airport


Why choose CityU?

  1. City University of Hong Kong is globally recognised as a top centre of higher learning and research
  2. CityU is "One of the Best Universities in Sports” in Hong Kong
  3. State-of-the-art learning, teaching and research facilities in a high-technology environment