RCUK Doctoral Stipend and Fee Levels RCUK Doctoral Stipend and Fee Levels

Research Councils UK (RCUK) typically increases its stipend and fee levels annually in line with inflation, based on the Treasury GDP deflator. The University of East Anglia always uses at least the minimum fee level recommended by RCUK when setting its Home/EU tuition fees for postgraduate research. The RCUK minimum stipend level is frequently used as a guide by other studentship providers.

National Minimum Doctoral Stipend for 2016/17 is £14,296
Research Councils UK Indicative Fee Level for 2016/17 is £4,121

The minimum stipend will increase in line with the GDP deflator and this remains the start-point for determining minimum stipend levels and this gives the national minimum doctoral stipend for 2016/17 as £14,296.

The indicative fee level for 2016/17 will increase in line with the GDP deflator and this gives £4,121. For planning purposes, research organisations should note that whilst the GDP deflator remains the basis for determining indicative fee levels, it will remain under review. (RCUK web site)

Year Stipend Fees
2016/17 £14296 £4121
2015/16 £14057 £4052
2014/15 £13863 £3996
2013/14 £13726 £3900
2012/13 £13590 £3828
2011/12 £13590 £3732


If you have any questions, please contact Postgraduate Research Admissions Enquiries on pgr.enquiries.admiss@uea.ac.uk or +44 (0)1603 59 1709.