The Enterprise and Engagement Blog The Enterprise and Engagement Blog


UEA Innovation & Impact Awards 2019 – Faculty of Medicine & Health Sciences (FMH) Winners

Winners of the Innovation and Impact Awards 2019 were announced on Thursday 31 January at a glittering ceremony held at the Sainsbury Centre. The Awards were presented by guests from a range of businesses and organisations that regularly collaborate with UEA, and the ceremony featured a keynote address from Doug Field, Chair of New Anglia LEP.

The Awards celebrate staff and students who have shown a strong commitment to innovation and impact, and recognised vital collaborations between UEA and organisations outside of higher education.

Finalists, UEA staff, guests, and external organisations, attended for networking drinks, a three-course meal, and presentation of the awards. The evening was a great success and a true celebration of the world-changing research and innovation activities taking place at UEA. 

The winners from FMH were:

  • Award for Student or Graduate Innovation and Enterprise – Dr Oskar Wendowski (MED/PHA) and Dr Thuria Abduljhbar (MED) for e-Surgery
    Presented by Rebecca Lewis Smith, Fountain Partnership
  • Outstanding Impact in Health, Wellbeing and Welfare – Dr Karen Bunning (HSC) for ‘Childhood Disability in Rural Kenya
    Presented by Richard Snell, IBM

Prof Fiona Lettice, Pro-Vice-Chancellor for Research and Innovation, hosted the evening and said:

“UEA truly is a hub of pioneering, ground-breaking research excellence and innovation, and these awards celebrate the fantastic work being undertaken by our staff and students alike. They also highlight the support of our external collaborators, without whom such successes would not be possible.”

Each finalist received a trophy to commemorate their achievement and each category winner will also receive funding towards a marketing venture for their project, to further their impact and reach.

For more information about the Innovation & Impact Awards 2020, please email Dr Karen Smith at