Annual bursary worth £5000, awarded at the start of the academic year Annual bursary worth £5000, awarded at the start of the academic year

David Higham Associates was established in 1935 and represents novelists, historians, biographers, screenwriters, playwrights, and children's writers and illustrators. The agency handles all rights in a client's work, including film and television, and is represented in all foreign markets.

Among the more recent UEA alumni to be represented by the agency are:

  • Naomi Alderman
  • Julia Bell
  • Sarah Ridgard
  • Clare George
  • Edward Hogan
  • Philip Langeskov
  • Jennifer Tuckett
  • Tiffany Murray

Naomi Alderman was the first recipient of the David Higham Award in 2002 and has been succeeded by:

  • Edward Hogan
  • Lauren Frankel
  • Alex Sheal
  • Katy Darby
  • Martha Schabas
  • Gabrielle Barnes
  • Philip Langeskov
  • Rob Magnusson Smith
  • Sarah Lewis-Hammond
  • Sara Sha'ath
  • Kiare Ladner
  • Paula Cocozza
  • Malachi McIntosh
  • Lauren Smith
  • Sumia Sukkar and Zoe Cook
  • Gemma Barry

The bursary is worth £5,000 and is awarded annually at the start of the MA in Creative Writing (Prose Fiction) to a student chosen by a panel of David Higham agents. All students accepted for a place on the course are automatically eligible for consideration, and the agents' decision is based on the material originally submitted by students in their application portfolio.