Funded by the Booker Prize Foundation, worth up to £25,000 Funded by the Booker Prize Foundation, worth up to £25,000

This scholarship is funded by the Booker Prize Foundation and is worth up to £25,000. It is awarded annually to a student enrolled on the MA in Creative Writing (Prose Fiction) and covers course fees, living costs and travel expenses. The recipient is chosen by a panel of tutors on the Prose Fiction MA, and all students from the UK, Commonwealth countries and Ireland who have accepted the offer of a place on the MA are eligible for consideration. The main consideration will be the quality of your application including, crucially, the quality of the written work submitted. Interview performance will be considered as part of your application.

The inaugural Booker scholar was D.W. Wilson from Canada in 2009.

He was followed by:

  • Anthony Good from the UK in 2010
  • Eliza Robertson from Canada in 2011
  • Sharlene Teo from Singapore in 2012
  • Sarah Young from New Zealand in 2013
  • Anna Pook from the UK in 2014