Current research student summaries and key interests Current research student summaries and key interests

Hamad Abdulla

Hamad.Abdulla@uea.ac.uk

Research project: British Advisory Position in the wake of opposition to British Imperial rule in Bahrain

James Albone

j.albone@uea.ac.uk
Research project: Roman Roads in the Landscape of Eastern England
Other research interests: English landscape history and archaeology - prehistory to post-medieval; 20th-century British military archaeology; road travel and transport in the long 18th century; historiography of Roman Britain

Mohammed Almutairi

Mohammed.M.Almutairi@uea.ac.uk

Research project: Britain and the Hashemite kingdoms 1920-1924

Diana Arseneau-Powell

D.Arseneau-Powell@uea.ac.uk

Research project: Perceptions of the 'Condition of England' - 1911 and 2011: From Masterman to Wilkinson and Pickett.

James Barnaby

J.Barnaby@uea.ac.uk

Research project: A Church for Becket? The Canterbury Dispute and the Canterbury Letters, 1184-1200’

Other research interests: The Medieval Church and the Papacy, the Twelfth Century Renaissance, the Angevin Empire and the Crusades

Charles Beacroft

C.Beacroft@uea.ac.uk

Research project: Disabled Russian Children, 1914-1945: Identity, Displacement and Marginalization

Hannah Bentley

H.Bentley@uea.ac.uk

Research project: Social changes in growth of Army nursing during First World War.

Wendy Bishop

W.Bishop@uea.ac.uk

Research project: Ornamental Water (lakes) in the early modern period

David Boulton

D.Boulton@uea.ac.uk

Research project: Differing patterns of Viking migration and settlement in Suffolk: an Analysis of Scandinavian place - names in their landscape context

Tina Bradley

T.Bradley@uea.ac.uk

Research project: 

Aleksandra Brokman

A.Kowalska@uea.ac.uk

Research project: Psychotherapy in the Soviet Union, 1962-85

Other research interests: History of Psychiatry, mental illness, alternative medicine, social and cultural history of the Soviet Union

 

Sarah Bruce-Lockhart

S.Bruce-lockhart@uea.ac.uk

Research project: Lord Lothian and the Country Houses Scheme

Danny Buck

Danny.Buck@uea.ac.uk

Research project: Seventeenth Century Norfolk

Julia Chaplin

Julia.Chaplin@uea.ac.uk
Research project: The introduction of general limited liability in England, 1855/56


Adrienne Compton

Adrienne.Compton@uea.ac.uk

Research project: Prehistoric Landscapes and the Origins of the Open Fields

Samuel Cross

Samuel.Cross@uea.ac.uk

Research project: An Oral History Project on the Social Impact of the Introduction of Television into Norfolk

Richard Daines

Richard.Daines@uea.ac.uk

Research project: John, Count of Mortain, and Regional Lordship in the 'Angevin Empire'

Caroline Davies

C.Davies@uea.ac.uk

Research project: Emotionalism and violence amongst male elites 1770-1820

Danilo Dondici

D.Dondici@uea.ac.uk

Research project: Italian liberalism and the contradictions of penal system: between reform and terror 1887 – 1914

 

Liam Draycott

L.Draycott@uea.ac.uk

Research project: St Edmund's Cult and Community in the Twelfth-Century

Stephen Fletcher

Stephen.Fletcher@uea.ac.uk

Research project: The Narrative of Movement in Designed Hunting Landscapes: 1350-1700

Samuel Foster

Samuel.Foster@uea.ac.uk

Research project: Representing the South Slavonic peasants in popular British Discourse, 1900-1941

Jamie Freeman

Jamie.Freeman@uea.ac.uk

Research project: From Konigsberg to Kaliningrad, 1945 to present

Tobi Glanville

T.Glanville@uea.ac.uk

Research project: Africans in Tudor England

Thomas Goldsmith

thomas.goldsmith@uea.ac.uk | eastanglia.academia.edu/ThomasGoldsmith
Research project: The political and diplomatic career of the Duke of Wellington, 1814-1846.
Other research interests: British and European diplomatic history in the 18th and 19th Centuries; political generations and political memory; British political history in the long 19th Century.

Ian Groves

I.Groves@uea.ac.uk

Research project: Factors influencing settlement development in Norfolk

Sarah Hall

s.hall3@uea.ac.uk
Research project: Puritan networks and communities in England and New England, 1600-1650
Other research interests: Atlantic history; Colonial American history; corporate and civic identity; local history; digital humanities and social network analysis

Jacqueline Harmon

J.Harmon@uea.ac.uk

Research project: The History of Barnwell Priory, Cambridge

Susan Haynes

Susan.Haynes@uea.ac.uk

Research project: Charles Bridgeman: a reappraisal from a landscape history perspective

Felicity Hill

F.Hill@uea.ac.uk

Research project: Excommunication and Politics in 13th Century England.

Adam Jolly

Adam.Jolly@uea.ac.uk

Research project: Lord Salisbury and Anglo-Russian relations in central Asia (most notably Afghanistan, Persia and India) between 1885 and 1894

Lesley Kant Cunneen

L.Cunneen@uea.ac.uk
Research project: Public Open Spaces

 

Ilhan Kilic

I.Kilic@uea.ac.uk

Research project: From Munich to the Cold War: Anglo-Turkish Relations

David Lawrenson

D.Lawrenson@uea.ac.uk

Research project: Rise and Fall of Markets in Suffolk

Victoria Lewis

Victoria.A.Lewis@uea.ac.uk

Research project: Providence, Emotion and Self-Writing in England, c.1660 - c.1720

Owen Molloy

O.Molloy@uea.ac.uk

Research project Westalgie and the legacies of the Bonn Republic

Fiona Nairn

f.nairn@uea.ac.uk
Research Project: The place of the bombings of Darwin in historical memory

Other research interests: Australian Studies, Australian History, The Second World War in the Pacific, Commemorative History, imperial relations, Australian national identity, the development of the Asia-Pacific region.

Steve Nunn

stephen.nunn@uea.ac.uk
Research project: Landscape History: The impact of Second World War home defence installations on the Norfolk landscape
Other research interests: agricultural history; architecture and literature; social history and cultural relationships in wartime; inter-disciplinary themes of history, ecology and the environment

Olena Palko

O.Palko@uea.ac.uk

Research project: Becoming Soviet: Lost Cultural Alternatives in Ukraine, 1917-1933

Jack Pitt

Jack.Pitt@uea.ac.uk

Research project: The politics, ethics and social implications of hardcore punk in 1980s Slovenia

Johanne Porter

Johanne.Porter@uea.ac.uk

Research project: Religious identity in East Anglia 800-1100

Frances Saddington

F.Saddington@uea.ac.uk

Research project: The Soviet Children's Picture Book, 1915-1935

Rachel Savage

Rachel.Savage@uea.ac.uk

Research project: Women's experience of and role in garden making 1770-1870

Michael Schmoelz

M.Schmoelz@uea.ac.uk

Research project: Pilgrimage in Medieval East Anglia

Frederic Shearer

F.Shearer@uea.ac.uk

Research project: The Making of Red Vienna: Social Democracy in Opposition 1905 to 1914

Elliot Short

Elliot.Short@uea.ac.uk

Research project: Building a multi-ethnic army in post-war Bosnia and Hercegovina

Sally Spong

S.Spong@uea.ac.uk

Research project: Isabella of Angoulême:  Queenship and Female Leadership in 13th century England and France

Elizabeth Stewart

Lizzie.Stewart@uea.ac.uk

Research project: 'The Royaltie of Sight': Virtually Recreating Contemporary Views of Designed Landscapes, c.1550-1660.

Other research interests: English landscape history and archaeology from prehistory to modern history, architecture, garden design, literature, museums, heritage, digital humanities and technology, including GIS, CAD, and virtual reality.

 

Adam Stone

Adam.D.Stone@uea.ac.uk

Research project: Using post - conquest charters to establish a mappable aspect of wastelands in the Medieval/Post Medieval periods located in Norfolk, Suffolk, Hertfordshire and Essex

Michael Thompson

Michael.Thompson@uea.ac.uk

Research project: Repton and the architects

Benjamin Tosland

B.Tosland@uea.ac.uk

Research project: Black Gold and the Architecture of Oil

Andrew Whittle

A.Whittle@uea.ac.uk

Research project: The History of 15th century English Kingship

Benjamin Wynes

B.Wynes@uea.ac.uk

Research project: Creating the 'Yugovlar Myth'