Scholarship winners announced for 2012/13

The Development Office is delighted to announce the winners of some of our donor-supported scholarships for 2012/13.

These awards are funded by UEA alumni, friends and organisations who regularly visit the University to meet their recipients. The Scholarships contribute towards tuition fees or other university expenses, providing support to students throughout their degree course at UEA. The winners are as follows:


The Charlie Dimont Scholarship - Martina Belmonte (PSI)

The Corsair Bursary - Sara Taylor (LDC)

The Derek Bryan and Liao Hongying Memorial Scholarship - Guangzhi Xu (ENV)

The Dominic Christian Scholarship - Caroline Walker (HIS)

The Dwayne Stallings Scholarship - Lydia Tewkesbury (LDC)

The Ford Blue Oval Scholarships - Eleanor Bedwell and Rosie Lees (ENV)

The Ink Sweat & Tears Poetry Writing Scholarship - Jennifer Grey (LDC)

The Leipzig Postgraduate Scholarship in Modern European History - Jamie Freeman (HIS)

The Lightfoot Marketing Scholarship in Modern History - Adam Plom (HIS)

The Mark V Williams Postgraduate Scholarship - Jack Pitt (HIS)

The Medical Aspirations Scholarships - Kenny Overman, Joe Pease and Cameron Stacey (MED)

The Mills & Reeve Scholarship - Rachel Hamling (LAW)

The Nabarro Scholarships - Chris Goodwin and Ben Hudson (LAW)

The Ranworth Trust Scholarship - Nicola Perkins (BIO)

The Simon Wharmby Postgraduate Scholarship in Environmental Sciences - Thomas Barningham (ENV)


The students gathered for a briefing earlier this month to hear more about their scholarships and how they can be involved in meeting donors throughout their time at UEA. The awards will be formally presented at a Scholarships Reception in March 2013 when the students will have the opportunity to meet and thank their donors in person.