Advisory Board

The Difference Campaign Advisory Board is comprised of eminent alumni and friends of UEA, leaders in their fields, who share the University's vision and are committed to working with us to help see our Campaign goals realised.

The members of The Difference Campaign Advisory Board are:

  • Sir Theodore Agnew

    Sir Theodore Agnew is successful businessman and philanthropist with a strong interest in education. He is a non-executive board member of the Department for Education and founder of the Inspiration Trust which sponsors a number of schools in Norfolk. He was recognised in the 2015 New Years Honours List for services to education with a knighthood.

  • Simon Bunce (CHE 81)

    Simon Bunce is former Global Head of Fixed Income at UBS Investment Bank. During his 15 year career at UBS he held a number of senior positions in Europe, US and Asia including Chief Executive Officer of UBS Securities in Japan.

  • Photo of Dominic Christian (SOC79)

    Dominic Christian (SOC79)

    Dominic Christian is Executive Chairman of Aon Benfield International, the world's leading reinsurance specialist based in London. He also serves as the CEO of Aon UK Limited.

  • Photo of Ayaz Ebrahim (SYS82)

    Ayaz Ebrahim (SYS82)

    Ayaz Ebrahim is Chief Investment Officer at Amundi Asset Management based in Hong Kong. Over the past 25 years Ayaz has held senior management positions in a number of organisations including Credit Agricole, HSBC and most recently as Chief Investment Officer of Halbis Capital Asset Management.

  • Photo of Professor Paul Greenhalgh

    Professor Paul Greenhalgh

    Professor Paul Greenhalgh is Director of the Sainsbury Centre for Visual Arts (SCVA) at UEA. Prior to joining the SCVA in 2010 he served as Director and President of the Corcoran Gallery of Art and College of Art and Design in Washington DC, one of the oldest arts institutions in America.

  • Photo of Joe Greenwell CBE (EAS70)

    Joe Greenwell CBE (EAS70)

    Joe Greenwell is currently Chief Executive of the Automotive Investment Organisation and Chairman of the RAC Foundation. He recently stepped from Chairman of Ford Britain and has worked in the automotive industry for the past four decades

  • Photo of Nigel Hart (SOC86)

    Nigel Hart (SOC86)

    Nigel Hart is former Managing Director, Portfolio Management Group at Blackrock in New York. Nigel has enjoyed a successful career as a portfolio manager in the United States, serving as General Partner of ReachCapital for over ten years.

  • Photo of Paul Harvey (SOC79)

    Paul Harvey (SOC79)

    Paul Harvey is currently Chief Executive Officer at Juniper Place LLP. He has worked for a number of organisations in the financial services sector over the past 20 years including founding and running GLG Partners' Fund of Hedge Fund Group.

  • Photo of Sir Christopher Howes KCVO

    Sir Christopher Howes KCVO

    Sir Christopher Howes was formerly Chief Executive of the Crown Estate. He is currently an advisor to Barclays Capital, a Director of the Howard de Walden Estate and the Colville Estate Ltd. He has also served as a member of the Council of the Duchy of Lancaster.

  • Photo of Tamara Ingram OBE (EAS79)

    Tamara Ingram OBE (EAS79)

    Tamara Ingram has been Chief Executive Officer of Grey London, one of the UK's largest communications agencies since 2005. She was previously Chief Executive Officer and Executive Chairman of Saatchi & Saatchi.

  • Photo of Stephen Lambert (SOC78)

    Stephen Lambert (SOC78)

    Stephen Lambert is a television producer and executive. He is best known for creating the award-winning reality television programmes Wife Swap, Faking It, Secret Millionaire and, most recently, Undercover Boss. He is Chief Executive of Studio Lambert, an independent production company based in London and Los Angeles which he founded in 2008.

  • Photo of Tim Lovett (BIO66)

    Tim Lovett (BIO66)

    Tim Lovett is Director of Public Affairs at the British Beekeepers Association and secretariat for the All Party Parliamentary Group on Honey Bees, having spent over thirty years in various roles within the pharmaceutical industry. He is also a former Chair of the UEA Society.

  • Photo of Philip Mould OBE (AHM78)

    Philip Mould OBE (AHM78)

    Philip Mould has specialised in British art for over 25 years, and is regarded as the foremost expert in British portraiture. He works closely with private collectors and institutions to build their art collections and is widely consulted by the media, starring in the BBC's ‘Fake or Fortune' and the Antiques Roadshow. His gallery is to be found on Dover Street in Mayfair.

  • Photo of Dr Jill Pellew

    Dr Jill Pellew

    Dr Jill Pellew is currently Senior Fellow of the Institute of Historical Research (IHR). She has spent three decades working in fundraising for higher education serving as Director of Development at the University of Oxford and Imperial College. Jill is the daughter of UEA's founding Vice-Chancellor, Frank Thistlethwaite.

  • Photo of Professor David Richardson

    Professor David Richardson

    Professor David Richardson is Vice Chancellor for the University of East Anglia. He was previously the Pro-Vice-Chancellor for Research, Enterprise and Engagement and holds a Chair of Microbial Biochemistry in the School of Biological Sciences at UEA.

  • Photo of Anna Southall OBE (AHM67)

    Anna Southall OBE (AHM67)

    Anna Southall has worked for four decades largely, but not exclusively, in the cultural sector. She has been a trustee of the Barrow Cadbury Trust and Fund since 1974 and chaired the Trust from 1996 to 2006. She is ‘lead trustee' for the Trust's Young Adults and Criminal Justice Programme. Anna is also currently Vice-Chair of the BIG Lottery Fund.

  • Lord Thomas Strathclyde (EUR78)

    Lord Strathclyde was until 2013 the Leader of the House of Lords as well as being the leader of the Conservative Party in the House of Lords. He began his career as a Lloyds insurance broker in the early 1980s. He has also served as Chancellor of the Duchy of Lancaster between 2010-3.

  • Photo of David Tabizel (SOC83)

    David Tabizel (SOC83)

    David Tabizel is a prolific businessmen in the UK media-technology industries over the past two decades. David has worked as an analyst, founder and developer of businesses across finance, media and technology sectors including Durlacher Investment Bank, 365 Corporation, Autonomy Plc, Rage Software Plc and the Videojug Corporation.

  • Photo of David Tibble (SOC70)

    David Tibble (SOC70)

    David Tibble is a founding partner of Somerton Capital LLP, a private equity investment firm based in the UK. He has previously served as Finance Director for the Hays Group Plc and President and Chief Executive Officer of WNS Limited.

  • Photo of Paul Tucker (SYS90)

    Paul Tucker (SYS90)

    Paul Tucker is a Partner at Egerton Capital, a London-based hedge fund. He has worked for over 15 years in the City including 11 years at Merrill Lynch where he ran the emerging markets equity research team.

  • Photo of Doug Ward (LAW99)

    Doug Ward (LAW99)

    Doug Ward is a Partner at GSA Capital Partners, an award-winning quantitative investment manager based in London.

  • Photo of Mark Williams (EUR81)

    Mark Williams (EUR81)

    Mark Williams is former Partner at Deloitte, one of the ‘big four' professional services companies in the UK. Having recently retired from a career in the accounting industry Mark is involved with a number of organisations including Chairman of Protective Film Solutions (Europe) Ltd and currently an Independent Member of UEA Council.