CURRENT RESEARCH STUDENTS CURRENT RESEARCH STUDENTS

List of Current Post Graduate Research (PGR) Students in ART

Name

Email

Thesis Title

Francesca Bove

f.bove@uea.ac.uk

George Morland: The Making of the Modern Artist

Alexandra Burston

a.burston@uea.ac.uk

Figurative Painting and Post-War British Art, 1945-1970

Sarah Cassell

s.cassell@uea.ac.uk

Structure and Image in Late Medieval East Anglian Angel Roofs

Lloyd de Beer

l.de-beer@uea.ac.uk

Alabaster Carvings of Medieval England in Their Wider Context

John Evans

john.evans@uea.ac.uk

Civic Improvements in Collections of Topographic Views c.1832

Kate Fisher

kate.fisher@uea.ac.uk

How has history of art understood meaning in the irreducible visual medium of its objects? Four art historiographical examples.

Daniel Frampton

d.frampton@uea.ac.uk

The Case for the Defence of the Christian Past: the Last Stand of the 'Old Western Men' in the Name of Tradition Against Modernity, 1960-1970

Katherine Gazzard

k.gazzard@uea.ac.uk

Portraiture and the British Naval Officer, 1739-1805

Maarten Horn

maarten.horn@uea.ac.uk

Dress to Impress: the Role of Jewellery in Social Constructions in Late Neolithic Egypt

David Hulks

d.hulks@uea.ac.uk

World Art History: Towards a Complex Adaptive Systems Approach

Rania Jaber

r.jaber@uea.ac.uk

Art in Translation and Diaspora: The Work of Three Lebanese Women Artists

Alexander Jackson

alexander.jackson@uea.ac.uk

Critical Mass: Art Writing and Popular Periodicals, 1877-1913

Alice Lyons

a.lyons@uea.ac.uk

Dying to be Roman: Adopting a Roman Way of Death in the Provinces

Maja Michaliszyn

m.michaliszyn@uea.ac.uk

Pietro Longhi's Oblique Perspective: Venetian Painting, Its Past and Its Present

Claudia Milburn

c.milburn@uea.ac.uk

The Draughtsmanship of Obsession: Alberto Giacometti

Anastasia Moskvina

a.moskvina@uea.ac.uk

Alignment and Axiality in Anglo-Saxon Architecture, 6th–9th Centuries

Alexandra Politis

a.politis@uea.ac.uk

The Union & The Imaginative Leap: Images of the Soane Museum in Britton's First Guidebook

Nicholas Trend

n.trend@uea.ac.uk

Wighton: the church, the town and its people 1400-1500

Yi-Ting Tsai

y.tsai@uea.ac.uk

Sino-British Cultural Interaction in the 19th Century: George Chinnery's Chinese-era Paintings, 1825-1852

Alison Wright

a.wright@uea.ac.uk

British Sporting and Animal Art, 1760-1840

Vassil Yordanov

v.yordanov@uea.ac.uk

Tradition & Modernity: British Academic Art 1910-1950

Nadine Zubair

n.zubair@uea.ac.uk

Woodcarving from the Punjab: Journeys and Encounters in the Late Nineteenth and Early Twentieth Centuries