Working with others, the Equality, Diversity and Inclusion committee’s role is to develop and implement the School action plans to increase transparency and equality of opportunity within the School.     

Since 2012, our committee meets monthly to analyse and reflect on cultural practices that affect equality at all levels within the school, reporting to the School Executive Committee.  If you have an interest in our inclusivity ideas, we would love to hear from you and your ideas could help to make a difference. You can email to express an interest.


More on Equality, Diversity and Inclusion


Name Position
  Full Members
Dr Simone Immler & Prof Michael Wormstone Co-chairs.  Also represent the school at the Faculty of Science and UEA-wide Athena SWAN Steering Groups
Tobi Aina Undergraduate Student
Ellen Bell Senior Research Associate
Jennifer Bello Diversity Coordinator, UUEAS: Union of Students, BAME representative
Prof Richard Bowater Reader
Michala Carlisle Student Life Adviser, Embedded Support Team
Luisa Carvalho Undergraduate Student
Esin D'Amery Student Equality Manager, UUEAS: Union of Students, BAME representative
Siobhan Dorai-Raj Project Co-ordinator - Athena SWAN and Equality and Diversity, Faculty of Science
Kelly Edmunds Senior Lecturer, Programme Director for the Science Foundation Year Courses
Dr Julie Eldred Contract Research Staff
Dr Emily Fowler Contract Research Staff
Nick Flower Student Life Adviser, Embedded Support Team
Emma Godbold Head of School PA
Matthew Gooch Project Office, Equality, Diversity and Inclusion, Human Resources
Georgina Hallsworth Faculty Professional Services
Thao Huynh PhD Student
Katie Large Project Coordinator - Athena SWAN and Equality & Diversity, Faculty of Science
Rebecca Lewis Co-Deputy Senior Adviser
Anna Lorencova Wellbeing Adviser, Embedded Support Team
Dr Catriona Morrison Associate Tutor
Rithika Nalli Student Chair of BAME in BIO
Nathalie Nyamweya Undergraduate Student
Sarah Pike Head of School PA
Charlotte Price School Manager
Cameron Rayment Student Chair of Pride in BIO
Graham Riley Disability Liaison Officer
Dr Gary Rowley Senior Lecturer and Placement Officer
Alexander Suh Director of BAME in BIO
Dr Maria Vardakou Director of Admissions
Laura Wagstaff Co-Deputy Senior Adviser
Jo Wright Teaching Technician
  Affiliated Members
Prof Andrew Bourke Director of Research
Tom Clarke Co-Director of Postgraduate Research
Dr Mark Coleman Director of Learning and Teaching
Daniel Marcu School Equality and Diversity Blog Editor 
Ben Miller Co-Director of Postgraduate Research
Jen Perry BIO Research Staff Coordinator
Gemma Standen UEA Mature Student Officer
Grant Wheeler Web Officer