Press Releases Press Releases


UEA supports strong future in Europe

UEA is proud to be a member of the Aurora Universities network and a signatory to the EU and UK research and higher education bodies pledge to planning a strong future relationship post Brexit.

On the day that the United Kingdom leaves the European Union, UEA is proud to be one of the higher education and research organisations from across the UK and Europe which have reaffirmed our commitment to working together.

Alongside Universities UK, a total of 29 major domestic and international organisations, which includes the European University Association (EUA), the Guild of European Research-Intensive Universities, the Confederation of British Industry (CBI), Wellcome Trust and many national rectors’ conferences across Europe, have committed to maintaining their current relationships. These groups are asking governments and the European Commission to ensure full association to Erasmus+ and Horizon Europe before the end of 2020.

“We, the major bodies representing science and higher education across the UK and Europe, are united in agreeing that we wish to continue to work together following the departure of the UK from the European Union. We call on our national governments and the European Commission to act on the commitments of the political declaration and work swiftly to agree a basis for continued collaboration through the UK’s full association to Horizon Europe and Erasmus+. Swift agreement in this area of clear mutual benefit would be good for all of us and should be reached before the end of 2020.”

The UK and EU now enter a transition period that will last until 31 December 2020. During this transition period the UK will remain a full member of Erasmus+ and Horizon 2020. UK and European institutions are encouraged to continue to exchange staff and students through the Erasmus+ programme, and to continue to collaborate through Horizon 2020. There will be no changes to the UK’s participation in these programmes, including for projects and mobilities that run past 31 December 2020.

The UK’s participation in Horizon Europe and Erasmus+, starting 1 January 2021, will be part of the negotiations between the UK and the EU. UK universities are pressing the UK government to prioritise negotiating continued participation in these programmes and, if that cannot be achieved, to explore putting into place national replacement schemes.

The full list of signatories:

EUA - European University Association

The Guild of European Research-Intensive Universities

ECIU – European Consortium of Innovative Universities

Aurora Universities Network

Wellcome Trust

CBI – Confederation of British Industry

CaSE - Campaign for Science and Engineering

Universities UK International

Universities Norway

Irish University Association

Universities Denmark

Flemish Interuniversity Council

CREF - Rectors conference of the Belgian French universities

HRK – The German Rectors' Conference

VSNU - The Association of Universities in the Netherlands

CRASP - Conference of Rectors of Academic Schools in Poland

CRUI - The Conference of Italian University Rectors

Crue - Universidades Españolas

Icelandic Rector´s Conference

Universities Lithuania

University of Luxembourg

Universities Austria

Council of Rectors of Latvia

CRC - Czech Rectors’ Conference

HRC - Hungarian Rectors’ Conference

Universities Estonia

CRUP - Portuguese Rectors’ Conference


SUHF – The Association of Swedish Higher Education Institutions

Universities UK is the collective voice of 137 universities in England, Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland. Its mission is to create the conditions for UK universities to be the best in the world; maximising their positive impact locally, nationally and globally. Universities UK acts on behalf of universities, represented by their heads of institution. Visit: www.universitiesuk.ac.uk