Latest news Latest news


Dr Paul Engelhardt awarded ‘Inclusive Teaching’ prize at the 2016 UEA SU Transforming Teaching Awards

UEA Psychology Teaching Award

Congratulations to Dr Paul Engelhardt who was awarded the SSF (Social Sciences Faculty) ‘Inclusive Teaching’ award at the 2016 UEA Student Union Transforming Teaching Awards. 

Following its huge success last year, the UEASU hosted the ceremony for the 2nd UEA Transforming Teaching Awards on Thursday 5 May 2016 in the LCR. 

The awards provide an opportunity to celebrate the very best teaching and support at UEA, as chosen by current students. Undergraduates are encouraged to nominate a tutor, support staff member or academic who they feel is exceptional. The winners are then selected by student representatives.

The ‘Inclusive Teaching’ category celebrates teaching which takes into consideration different learning needs and styles, and has a diverse and socially conscious curriculum. Paul, who leads the 3rd year undergraduate module ‘Psychology of Language’, was selected as recipient of the award for his extraordinary efforts’ and ‘motivational’ style.

Special mention must also go to Dr Neil Cooper, runner up for the ‘Most Inspiring Teacher’ and ‘Overall Transformative Teaching’ awards and David Nevard who was runner up for the ‘Best Associate/PhD Tutor’ prize.

Congratulations to all of the School of Psychology staff and students who were nominated for Transforming Teaching Awards:

Andrew Bayliss, Neil Cooper, Gareth Edwards, Paul Engelhardt, Louise Ewing, Debra Griffiths, Kamena Henshaw, Louis Renoult, Stephanie Rossit, Victoria Scaife, Judie Walsh, Simon Watts, Sophie Bagge, Jessica Brennan, David Nevard, Emma Watkinson-Aspinall.

Student nominations recorded the creative, inspiring, and enthusiastic teaching by School of Psychology staff who are also described as approachable, supportive and engaging.

Full nominations and winners list is available on the UEA Student Union website.

Study at the School of Psychology