Main Menu

Course Detail


Course Detail

Course Details Course Details


Innovation & Practice Level 7 Module



Tuesday 25 September 2018 - Tuesday 11 December 2018


UEA, Norwich

Event Category:

Nursing, Medicine, Midwifery, Allied Health Professionals, Ambulance Service, Operating Department, Health and Social Care

Start Date

25th September 2018

Service Priority

leadership, Service Improvement & Innovation


18 Days







Course Information

This module will provide you with the opportunity to study innovation in depth. It is designed to help you to develop your knowledge of current approaches to quality and governance in healthcare and specifically, aspects of service improvement and practice to enable you to acquire new skills in the application of available frameworks for service improvement and practice innovation within the current context of the Health and Social Care Quality Agenda.

Is this course for me?

May be studied as a  standalone unit, as part of the Leading Innovation for Clinical Practitioners.  It is a core module for the LICP programme.

What will I learn?

The learning outcomes and objectives for this module have been mapped against the five core domains of the Clinical Leadership Competencies Framework (DoH 2011). The Clinical Leadership competency framework consists of five domains. Within each domain there are four categories called elements and each of these elements is further divided into four competency statements which describe the activity or outcomes all clinicians should be able to demonstrate. Each domain has four elements, and each element is further described as four competences to be attained. 

Domain 1:
Demonstrating Personal Qualities
Elements:  1.1 Developing self-awareness, 1.2 Managing yourself, 1.3 Continuing personal development, 1.4 Acting with integrity

Domain 2:
Working with Others
Elements: 2.1 Developing networks, 2.2 Building and maintaining relationships, 2.3 Encouraging contribution, 2.4 Working within teams

Domain 3;
Managing Services
Elements: 3.1 Planning, 3.2 Managing resources, 3.3 Managing people, 3.4 Managing performance

Domain 4:
Improving Services
Elements: 4.1 Ensuring patient safety, 4.2 Critically evaluating, 4.3 Encouraging improvement and innovation, 4.4 Facilitating transformation

Domain 5:
Setting Direction
Elements: 5.1 Identifying the contexts for change, 5.2 Applying knowledge and evidence, 5.3 Making decisions, 5.4 Evaluating impact

Study Dates

Independent Study

25th September 2018 Time 09.00 -10.00

9th October 2018 Time 09.00 - 10.00

6th 20th November 2018  Time 09.00 - 10.00

11th December 2018 Time 09.00 - 10.00

2nd 16th 23rd 30th October 2018 Time 09.00 - 16.00

13th 27th November 2018 Time 09.00 -16.00

4th December 2018  Time 09.00 - 16.00


25th September 2018 Time 10.00 - 13.00

9th October 2018 Time 10.00 - 16.00

6th November 2018 Time 10.00 - 16.00

11th December 2018 Time 10.00 - 12.00


25th September 2018 Time 14.00 - 17.00

20th November 2018 Time 10.00 - 16.00

11th December 2018 Time 13.00 - 16.00

*Be advised that course dates and timings may change

Course Director

Helen Meehan


Whilst the University will make every effort to offer the modules listed, changes may sometimes be made arising from the annual monitoring, review and update of modules and regular (five-yearly) review of course programmes. Where this activity leads to significant (but not minor) changes to programmes and their constituent modules, there will normally be prior consultation of students and others. It is also possible that the University may not be able to offer a module for reasons outside of its control, such as the illness of a member of staff or sabbatical leave. In some cases optional modules can have limited places available and so you may be asked to make additional module choices in the event you do not gain a place on your first choice. Where this is the case, the University will endeavour to inform students.


Apply Now


Register your interest


Email Us

Call Us