Annual award established in memory of Giles Gordon Annual award established in memory of Giles Gordon

Curtis Brown was established in 1899 and is one of the oldest literary agencies in Europe, representing a wide variety of best-selling and prize-winning authors, including some of the most acclaimed writers of the last century as well as many prominent contemporary authors. The agency handles translation rights in over thirty territories, and has a dedicated book-to-film section.

Among the UEA alumni to be represented by the agency are:

  • Martyn Bedford
  • Tracy Chevalier
  • Susan Fletcher
  • Jane Harris
  • Emma Healey
  • Jeremy Page
  • Eliza Robertson
  • D.W. Wilson

For many years the agency sponsored a bursary for a student joining the Creative Writing MA, and in 2006 the Curtis Brown Prize was established by the agency in memory of their colleague Giles Gordon. 

The inaugural award went to Joe Dunthorne in 2006 for his novel Submarine. He was succeeded by:

  • Tamara Britten in 2007
  • Daniel Timms in 2008
  • Lauren Owen in 2009
  • Gillian Daly in 2010
  • Chelsey Flood in 2011
  • Charlotte Stretch in 2012
  • Eliza Robertson in 2013
  • Matthew Zandstra in 2014
  • Imogen Hermes Gowar in 2015
  • Abby Erwin in 2016
  • Taymour Soomro in 2017

The award is worth £1,500 and is made annually to the best student on the prose fiction MA, as chosen by a panel of Curtis Brown agents from a shortlist comprising those students who achieve a distinction in their dissertation.

Find further MA funding opportunities










Chelsey Flood receiving the Curtis Brown Award from agent Karolina Sutton