A range of scholarships available A range of scholarships available

Scholarships available to UK/EU residents

General (UK Residents)

The first port of call should be the Grants Register (published by Palgrave McMillan) which can be found in all institutional and many public libraries. It lists a large number of awards and, by way of its comprehensive index, applications can be directed towards awards related to the subject area in which you intend to study.  Another useful UK grant outlet is the Educational Grants Advisory Service which will search over 2,000 different educational trusts who might be able to provide additional funding. Candidates are also advised to check the press (especially The GuardianThe Independent, and the Times Higher Education supplement for the announcement of various scholarships and awards, especially in March and April. Residents of Northern Ireland should also write to the Department of Education, Rathgael House, Balloo Road, Bangor, Co.Down BT19 2PR.

UK students could also investigate Professional and Career Development Loans available from major banks.

School of International Development Excellence Awards

UK/EU Postgraduate Scholarship

The School of International Development is offering a £1,000 fee waiver to all UK/EU students who have obtained a 1st Class degree.

How to apply - all eligible candidates with a 1st Class degree to whom the School have made an offer are automatically given the £1,000 fee waiver.

UK/EU Full Fee Scholarship

This award is offered to UK/EU students based on academic excellence, quality of personal statement and background within development. 

How to apply: All eligible candidates to whom the School have made an offer are automatically considered for nomination to be considered for the Full Fee Home/EU award.

Deadline for applications: Applications must be received by 2 June 2015.

School of International Development internal bursaries

All UEA undergraduates who successfully register to progress on to any of our International Development Master's courses are eligible to receive a 20% reduction in fees. Please contact dev.pgt.admiss@uea.ac.uk for further information. 

How to apply: All eligible candidates to whom the School have made an offer are automatically considered for nomination.

50% Final Year Undergraduate Continuation Scholarship

Current final year UEA undergraduate students who gain a 1st class degree and progress onto a postgraduate course in September 2015 will receive a 50% fee reduction scholarship. Those who do not gain a 1st class degree will still be eligible for the 10% UEA Alumni Scholarship outlined below. Terms and conditions apply. 

UEA Alumni 10% Scholarship

A scholarship of a 10% fee reduction is available to UEA Alumni looking to return for postgraduate study at UEA in September 2015Terms and conditions apply.

Other scholarships available to UK/EU students

General (Non-UK Residents)

Students planning to come to Britain to study should seek information from their own Ministry of Education and from the nearest British Council Office, British Embassy or British High Commission. Students already in the UK can obtain information from their own Embassy or High Commission and the British Council regional or London offices. Further information on funding may be obtained from the UK Council for Overseas Students Affairs.

World Council of Churches

Candidates who are directly engaged in church service, or community service, or who have previous theological education may be eligible to apply for a World Council of Churches Scholarship. Candidates should normally have had some working experience related to their proposed field of study.  Applications should be made through a candidate's local church or church-related organisation - a WCC application form is made available by the National Correspondent only after local selection has taken place. Further details may be obtained directly from the World Council of Churches Scholarship Secretary, 150 Route de Ferney, PO Box 66, 1211 Geneva 20, Switzerland. 

How to apply: All eligible candidates should apply directly to the World Council of Churches.

NFU Mutual Charitable Trust Centenary Award - MA Agriculture and Rural Development

In 2015 NFU Mutual, the UK’s leading rural insurer, is once again offering the Centenary Award for postgraduate students in agriculture.

The award gives annual bursaries to pay up to 75% of course fees for selected post graduate students in agriculture (Masters or PhD).

Eligibility: Home, EU and Overseas applicants who have gained, or are expected to gain, a 2:1 or above (or international equivalent) in agriculture or a closely related degree, and have been offered a place on a Masters or PhD course in agriculture in the UK starting in September 2015.  

Application deadline: 30 April 2015.

How to apply: Prospective postgraduate students who think they may be eligible to apply for the award in 2015 should contact centenary_award@nfumutual.co.uk to request further details and an application form.

Further information, including selection criteria for applicants, can be found on the NFU Mutual Charitable Trust website

Ashton Partnership Scholarship in Water Security

A new scholarship opportunity is being offered by the Water Security Research Centre and The Ashton Partnership to an eligible candidate of the MSc in Water Security and International Development for the 2015-16 academic year. The ‘Ashton Partnership Scholarship in Water Security’ offers the scholarship recipient an award of £6,500 as a reduction to tuition fees for the academic year. Full scholarship details.

Applications are welcome from applicants from all countries and should include a CV, a covering letter and an essay on water security. Scholarship application form

Deadline for receipt of applications is 1 June 2015 and early applications are encouraged.