Latest news from within the School of Engineering Latest news from within the School of Engineering


First annual UEA Engineering Prize Ceremony

Date: 4th December 2015

Now that we have 4 named prizes that have been sponsored by industry it was time to celebrate the success of our students in a more formal way. So at a pleasant ceremony on Friday 4th December we invited representatives from all four organisations to give a short speech and hand over the awards to the winners from academic year 2014-15.

This year’s prizes were :

  • The Aquaterra Energy Prize : Best performance in MSc Energy Engineering with Environmental Management : Ms Holly Dalligan (2013-14); Mr Ashley Game (2014-15)
  • The James Fisher Marine Services Prize : Best performance in second year 2014-15 : Mx Laurie Bird
  • The RWE Npower Prize : Best performance in first year 2014-15 : Ms Varsha Gunness
  • Norwich Engineering Society Prize :  Most improved performance in first year 2014-15 : Mr Jonathan Collett.
  • Over an excellent buffet each company representative said how pleased they were to be supporting such young talent.  
  • Stewart Maxwell (technical director at Aquaterra Energy and this year’s honorary president of the student Engineering Society was able to award two prizes.
  • Tony Meacock (NES president) recounted his career with a view to offering encouragement to the students when faced with decisions about career path.
  • Martin Dronfield (James Fisher Group Director) who is on our Industrial Advisory Board was at pains to dispel the mythical doom and gloom surrounding the oil prices by emphasising to the prize winners that this is a wonderful and exciting time to be entering the energy industry.


Sadly Dave Horton of npower was unable to attend but sent an excellent speech for Prof Coates to read out.  After abortive attempts to project Dave’s picture and combine it with a photograph of Varsha Gunness, in Dave’s absence (?!) the evening was summed up well by long-time supporter John Best (James Fisher Group) : “that was one of the best prize ceremonies I have ever attended; very Monty Python!”