Skip to Content
  • Intro
  • Research Projects A-Z
  • People

Behavioural and Experimental Economics

The Behavioural and Experimental Development Economics research theme combines insights from development economics especially with those from psychology, but also sociology and anthropology, to investigate a range of development issues.

Behavioural economics is having a profound impact on the economics discipline; and its impact on development economics is also on the rise. The overwhelming evidence that economic actors do not always behave the way standard economic models assume has strong implications for understanding the process of economic development.  

Some of the topics investigated are: risk preferences, workplace norms, intrinsic motivation, norms of intra-household allocation, trust among kin, envy, fairness, the role of social status, and aspirations. This research makes use of laboratory and field experiments, as well as randomised control trials.

Our active involvement at the frontier of research in this field is receiving increasing recognition, as testified by our accepted and forthcoming publications, as well as the joint work, some with world-renowned authorities.

We also teach in this field both at undergraduate and postgraduate level, such as the MSc in Development Economics and MSc Impact Evaluation and International Development.

We work closely with other members of the Centre for Behavioural and Experimental Social Sciences (CBESS) at the Social Science Faculty at University of East Anglia, and with the School of Economics, one of the leading economics departments for the study of behavioural and experimental economics.

People


Paul Clist

Lecturer in Development Economics, School of International Development

Paul.Clist@uea.ac.uk


Ben D'Exelle

Professor of Development Economics, School of International Development

B.DExelle@uea.ac.uk


Lucio Esposito

Senior Lecturer, School of International Development

Lucio.Esposito@uea.ac.uk


Cecile Jackson

Professor of Development Studies, School of International Development

Cecile.Jackson@uea.ac.uk


Bereket Kebede

Professor in Behavioural Economics, School of International Development

B.Kebede@uea.ac.uk


Adrian Martin

Professor of Environment and Development, School of International Development

Adrian.Martin@uea.ac.uk


Nitya Rao

Professor of Gender and Development, School of International Development

N.Rao@uea.ac.uk


 Pieter Serneels

Reader, School of International Development

P.Serneels@uea.ac.uk


Theodore Turocy

Professor of Economics, School of Economics

T.Turocy@uea.ac.uk


Arjan Verschoor

Professor of Economics, School of International Development

A.Verschoor@uea.ac.uk