News News


Young Energy Storage Scientist Award 2015

On 7 October Professor Greg Wildgoose received the YESS Award at the Batteries 2015 congress, Nice, France, from the Research Network on Electrochemical Energy Storage (RS2E), who focus on rechargables, supercapacitors, and the commercial viability of renewable electricity storage.  Greg is also presenting a talk on some of his team’s research for RS2E’s industry network in Paris later in October.

The award  was based on Greg’s ideas surrounding his pioneering development of “frustrated batteries” - hydrogen rechargeable batteries that use frustrated Lewis pairs to spontaneously convert the energy contained within hydrogen molecules into stored electrical charges. This new technology may lead to a new type of battery that can recharge in minutes rather than hours.

 “I am thrilled and truly honoured to have received the YESS 2015 award from the RS2E network, which recognises the potential impact that "frustrated battery"  technology may have on future energy storage devices" said Greg.  "The development of the electrochemical-frustrated Lewis pair chemistry that underpins this technology is the result of a team effort by my research group and that of my collaborators, Dr Andrew Ashley (Imperial College) and Dr Michael Ingleson (Manchester).”

Prof. Jean-Marie Tarascon, Director of the RS2E network commented on the award: "To leapfrog the now critical battery research field we need new science, new directions, new approaches and changes to lay the scientific foundations needed for later technological advancement. This is what RS2E wanted to promote with the YESS award (Young Energy Storage Scientist award). Among the many applications we received, Prof. Wildgoose's on frustrated Lewis pairs was selected because it proposes a transformational approach to classical battery research."


Greg Wildgoose with his award and collaborators

Photograph courtesy of "Batteries 2015”.